Brio (Ollie) SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Brio SmartClean Sonic Toothbrush (Ollie) | My Dental Advocate

Are you looking to take your oral hygiene to the next level? Meet the Brio (Ollie) SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush—the game-changer in dental care.

Launched in 2015 and backed by dental professionals, this innovative toothbrush offers sonic technology, multiple brushing modes, and an impressive 6-week battery life.

With a 2-minute timer, the SmartClean ensures you brush for the optimal time, reaching places your manual toothbrush just can’t.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Brio (Ollie) SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

Ollie Subscription
Brio SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush
$78.95

Gone are the days of brushing for less than a minute—SmartClean's built-in 2-minute timer guarantees that you brush for the dentist-recommended time.

Customize your brushing experience with 5 modes and 3 different brush head styles to find your perfect match.

A single charge lasts 6 weeks, freeing you from needing to recharge. Endorsed by dental professionals since 2015, SmartClean offers top-notch performance and peace of mind with a 90-day risk-free trial and a lifetime warranty. Elevate your oral care routine today with SmartClean.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/30/2024 12:30 pm GMT

First Impressions

Brio SmartClean Sonic Toothbrush (Ollie) | My Dental Advocate

From the moment I unboxed the Brio (Ollie) SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush, I knew I was in for a premium experience.

The toothbrush itself exudes durability—its build quality is nothing short of impressive, convincing me that it’s a long-lasting investment in my oral health.

The motor is remarkably powerful, yet it operates smoothly, ensuring a deep and effective clean without any discomfort. But what genuinely stands out are the customization options.

SmartClean doesn’t just come with one or two, but three different brush heads—SmartClean, ProClean, and XClean.

Each head offers a unique brushing experience, from the gentle bristles of SmartClean to the densely-packed bristles of ProClean, ideal for whitening, and the large XClean head that covers multiple teeth and massages gums.

I was thrilled to discover that the toothbrush also boasts five distinct brushing modes. Navigating through them is incredibly intuitive, and each mode feels unique, catering to different oral care needs.

Whether I wanted a gentle clean or something more invigorating, SmartClean had me covered.

And let’s not forget about the battery life. The promise of 6 weeks on a single charge sounded too good to be true, but I’m starting to believe it based on the toothbrush’s performance thus far.

In short, my first impressions of the SmartClean Electric Toothbrush are overwhelmingly positive. Much thought and innovation has gone into designing this toothbrush, making it a standout choice for anyone looking to upgrade their oral care routine.

Overall Rating0

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Ollie subscription
  • 3 replacement brush heads
  • 5 brushing modes
  • 6-week battery life
  • 2-minute interval timer
  • 90-day risk-free trial
  • Lifetime warranty

Cons

  • No travel case
  • No tongue cleaner

Ollie Oral Care Subscription

Brio SmartClean Sonic Toothbrush (Ollie) | My Dental Advocate

Caring for your teeth doesn't have to be a chore or a complex affair. Enter the Ollie Oral Care Box—a one-stop solution for all your dental needs.

This subscription box streamlines your oral care routine by bundling the essentials: the SmartClean sonic toothbrush, Fresh Mint Toothpaste, String Floss, and Floss Picks, all designed to work in harmony for an unparalleled cleaning experience.

What's Inside the Box?

  • SmartClean Sonic Toothbrush: More than just a toothbrush, it uses sonic technology and multiple modes for a deep clean, targeting both surface and deep stains, with up to 6 weeks of battery life.
  • Fresh Mint Toothpaste (2x): Designed to complement the SmartClean toothbrush, this toothpaste not only fights cavities but also enhances whitening for lasting results.
  • String Floss: Effective and easy to use, it helps remove plaque and freshen breath, reaching those tricky spaces between teeth.
  • Floss Picks: A convenient alternative to traditional flossing, these picks simplify maintaining a clean and healthy mouth.

Learn more about Ollie Oral Care Subscription Box

Innovative Features

The Brio SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush is not just another dental gadget; it's a revolution in oral care technology. This advanced toothbrush is packed with features that set it apart from its competition, making it a must-have for anyone serious about oral health.

From its cutting-edge sonic technology to its customizable brushing modes, SmartClean is designed to offer a thorough, personalized cleaning experience.

Brio SmartClean Sonic Toothbrush (Ollie) Brush Heads | My Dental Advocate
Brio Ollie SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush Heads

Key Features

  • Sonic Technology: Uses high-frequency vibrations to clean beyond what manual brushes can reach, ensuring a thorough deep clean.
  • Built-in 2-Minute Timer: Helps you brush for the dentist-recommended two minutes, promoting good oral care habits.
  • Multiple Brush Heads: Includes SmartClean, ProClean, and XClean heads for a personalized brushing experience tailored to your dental needs.
  • 5 Brushing Modes: Features Clean, Whitening, Polish, Gum Care, and Sensitive modes for specific oral health requirements.
  • 6-Week Battery Life: Its long-lasting lithium-ion battery is ideal for travelers or those with busy schedules, needing only infrequent charging.
  • 90-Day Risk-Free Trial: Offers a hassle-free return policy with free shipping, ensuring satisfaction with your SmartClean toothbrush.
  • Lifetime Warranty: Enjoy a lifetime warranty by subscribing to the brush head replacement program, adding extra value to your purchase.
  • Zone Reminders: Four 30-second reminders ensure even coverage of all mouth areas, for a comprehensive clean.

Dentist Review

Brio SmartClean Sonic Toothbrush (Ollie) | My Dental Advocate
Brio Ollie SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush

When it comes to dental care, effectiveness is non-negotiable. The Brio SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush delivers on this front, boasting a robust motor that quickly removes plaque, food particles, and surface stains.

Whether you're tackling the front, back, or hidden corners of your teeth, SmartClean ensures no area is left unattended.

Personal Experience: The Perfect Pairing for Sensitive Teeth

As someone with sensitive teeth and gums, finding the right toothbrush and settings can be a challenge.

That's why I was particularly drawn to the XClean brush head, especially when used on the 'Sensitive' mode. The experience was great!

The bristles, arranged in a crisscross pattern, are firm enough for effective cleaning yet gentle enough to avoid irritation.

Paired with Ollie's Fresh Mint Toothpaste, the combination provided an incredibly thorough clean without causing any sensitivity issues.

The feeling post-brushing was akin to a professional dental cleaning—smooth, fresh, and invigorating. It's as if every nook and cranny of my mouth had been attended to.

Room for Improvement

While the SmartClean excels in many areas, there are a few features I wish it included. A travel case would add convenience for those on the go, and handle grips could offer better control during brushing.

Additionally, a tongue cleaner on the back of the toothbrush head would make it a more comprehensive oral care tool.

Why It Works

  • Powerful Motor: The robust motor ensures deep cleaning, easily tackling plaque and stubborn particles.
  • XClean Brush Head: The larger size and unique bristle pattern cover more surface area and are perfect for those with sensitive dental needs.
  • Sensitive Mode: Offers gentle vibrations, ideal for those with sensitive teeth and gums, without compromising on cleanliness.
  • Ollie’s Fresh Mint Toothpaste: Formulated to work seamlessly with the SmartClean, this toothpaste helps achieve lasting whitening results and a minty-fresh feeling.
Recommended Reading: Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

My Experience & Expertise

The Brio SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush is a game-changer in the realm of oral care, offering a plethora of features that promote effective and tailored cleaning.

With its robust motor, variety of brush heads, and multiple modes, it's a comprehensive solution for anyone serious about their dental health.

As someone with sensitive teeth and gums, the SmartClean has delivered an exceptional cleaning experience without any discomfort, especially when paired with Ollie's Fresh Mint Toothpaste.

However, there's always room for improvement. The addition of a travel case, handle grips, and a tongue cleaner would elevate this already impressive product to new heights.

Yet, even without these extra features, the SmartClean provides remarkable value for its price point, setting a high bar for what a modern electric toothbrush should be.

Overall Rating0
Ollie Subscription
Brio SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush
$78.95

Gone are the days of brushing for less than a minute—SmartClean's built-in 2-minute timer guarantees that you brush for the dentist-recommended time.

Customize your brushing experience with 5 modes and 3 different brush head styles to find your perfect match.

A single charge lasts 6 weeks, freeing you from needing to recharge. Endorsed by dental professionals since 2015, SmartClean offers top-notch performance and peace of mind with a 90-day risk-free trial and a lifetime warranty. Elevate your oral care routine today with SmartClean.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/30/2024 12:30 pm GMT

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you'll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we'll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Pregnancy Gingivitis Information | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

Pregnancy Gingivitis (Causes, Symptoms & Treatment 2024)

Pregnancy and the baby’s development inside a mother’s womb is a beautiful miracle; however, it doesn’t come without swollen legs, body aches and labor pains. In addition, hormones are in constant flux, preparing the mother for the baby’s arrival. Progesterone and estrogen…

Fluoride varnish & fluoride treatment | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Common Questions | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Kids Dentistry | Oral Health

Fluoride Varnish vs. Fluoride Treatment (What’s the Difference?)

What’s the difference between fluoride varnish and fluoride treatment? Fluoride is a hot topic today, especially in the dental office. There are many questions about fluoride, including its effectiveness, safety and necessity. Is it safe for children? It’s so expensive; is it worth it?

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.