Oral-B Pro 1000 vs. Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Oral-B Pro 1000 vs. Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Seeking the best budget electric toothbrush?

The Oral-B 1000 and Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush are top contenders.

We’ll position these two against each other, examine their features, analyze their performance, and finally, give you a solid recommendation.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene. So, after using them for multiple days, let’s take a closer look from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

300% More Plaque Removal
Advanced Sonic Technology
4.4
4.6
$49.00
$39.95
  • ADA-Approved
  • Pressure Sensor
  • Premium Case
  • 2-Minute Timer
  • Round Brush Head
  • 2-Minute Timer
  • Quad Pacer
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • Slim Ergonomic Design
  • Abrasive Bristles
  • Lacks ADA Approval
300% More Plaque Removal
4.4
$49.00
  • ADA-Approved
  • Pressure Sensor
  • Premium Case
  • 2-Minute Timer
  • Round Brush Head
  • Abrasive Bristles
Advanced Sonic Technology
4.6
$39.95
  • 2-Minute Timer
  • Quad Pacer
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • Slim Ergonomic Design
  • Lacks ADA Approval
05/26/2024 03:40 pm GMT

Oral-B Pro 1000 Electric Toothbrush (Dentist Review)

Oral-B Pro 1000 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Oral B Pro 1000

The Oral-B Pro 1000 has carved a niche for itself in the realm of oral hygiene, primarily due to its remarkable plaque-removing capabilities.

Its prowess in offering a deep clean, especially along the gumline, is unquestionably one of its strong suits.

The rotating brush head, while effective, can be perceived as more abrasive on the teeth, particularly when compared to oscillating brush heads like those of the Philips Sonicare.

This doesn’t necessarily undermine its quality but requires users to be a tad more attentive while brushing.

For those with sensitive teeth or gums, or those wary of abrasiveness, using the toothbrush on the lowest of its three modes is advisable. This setting is more than sufficient to combat plaque effectively.

One of the cardinal rules when venturing into the world of electric toothbrushes is to let the toothbrush do the heavy lifting. There’s no need to scrub, as you might with a manual toothbrush.

Instead, glide it gently across your teeth and gumline, allowing its technology to work its magic. Coupled with the embedded pressure sensor, users should also be cautious not to push too hard—again, let the device do its job.

In conclusion, the Oral-B Pro 1000 offers a potent punch in the plaque-fighting arena, especially considering its price point. With mindful usage, it stands as an effective and value-driven choice in the vast landscape of electric toothbrushes.

 Recommended Reading: Oral-B Pro 1000 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

3 Brushing Modes
Oral-B Pro 1000 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
$49.00

300% more plaque removal along the gumline vs. a regular manual toothbrush!

The pressure sensor stops the pulsation movement if you brush too hard and the in handle timer helps you brush for a dentist-recommended 2-minutes.

3 brushing modes (Daily Clean, Whiten, and Sensitive) are used to break up and sweep away plaque.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/26/2024 03:40 pm GMT

Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush (Dentist Review)

Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 1100

The Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a reliable and efficient toothbrush.

Upon opening the package, you first notice the sleek and modern design.

The toothbrush has a slim, ergonomic handle that fits comfortably in your hand, making it easy to use for extended periods.

One of the most impressive features of this toothbrush is the Sonicare technology. It gently pulses water between your teeth, providing a deep clean that you can feel.

The bristle motion is surprisingly fast, making it an excellent option for those upgrading from a manual toothbrush.

Another thing that stands out about the Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush is its simplicity. It doesn’t come with many extra bells and whistles, but it doesn’t need to. The toothbrush is straightforward, with just one button to turn it on and off.

The W-shaped brush head and feathered bristles are a great addition; however, I would have appreciated having more than one brush head as it comes standard with Sonicare’s C1 brush head.

My first impressions of the Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush are positive. It’s a well-designed and efficient toothbrush that provides a deep clean without unnecessary frills.

If you’re looking for a reliable and straightforward electric toothbrush for an affordable price, the Sonicare 1100 is definitely worth considering.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

Advanced Sonic Technology
Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$39.95

Innovative Sonicare technology gently pulses fluid between the teeth and along the gum line for a gentle and effective clean every time​.

EasyStart program helps you gradually get used to the sonic brushing power​.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/26/2024 08:00 pm GMT

Similar Innovative Features

The Oral-B Pro 1000 and Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush have essential features that make them a top choice for individuals looking for an affordable and practical electric toothbrush.

Key Features

  • Long Battery Life for Convenience: Enjoy up to 14 days of use on a single charge, perfect for travel without constant recharging.
  • High-Quality Bristles for Deep Cleaning: The densely-packed bristles are designed to remove 3x more plaque than manual toothbrushes. Their contoured shape makes reaching all areas of your teeth easy.
  • 2-Minute Timer for Effective Brushing: A built-in 2-minute Smartimer ensures you brush for the dentist-recommended time. Plus, the Quadpacer alerts you every 30 seconds to switch to a different mouth quadrant.
 Recommended Reading: Best Sonicare Replacement Brush Heads 2023 (Ultimate Guide)

Similar Effectiveness

Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare 1100 C1 Brush Head

When it comes to effectiveness, both the Oral-B 1000 and the Sonicare 1100 stand out for their plaque-battling capabilities.

Clinical studies and user reports consistently show that these brushes excel at disrupting and removing that pesky plaque, ensuring a thorough clean every time.

However, the Sonicare 1100 edges ahead with its advanced sonic technology, which is not only efficient but also particularly gentle on the gums.

This makes it an ideal choice for those with sensitive gums or who are looking for a more delicate touch.

On the other hand, the Oral-B 1000 adopts a more aggressive approach, which might be preferable for those who appreciate a vigorous brushing experience that feels like it’s working harder.

Each has its merits, and the best choice may come down to personal preference and gum sensitivity.

What’s the Difference?

The Oral-B Pro 1000 and Philips Sonicare 1100 are designed to provide users with an exceptional oral cleaning experience. However, several key differences differentiate the two models:

Oral-B Pro 1000

  • ADA (American Dental Association) approved
  • Rotational brush head for comprehensive cleaning
  • Rounded bristle ends to match the shape of your teeth
  • More stiff bristles for an aggressive clean
  • Built-in pressure sensor to prevent hard brushing
  • Generally more expensive
  • Premium travel case

Sonicare 1100

  • More affordable price point
  • Softer bristles, suitable for sensitive gums
  • Sonicare’s advanced sonic technology for gentle, effective cleaning

Alternative Options

Exploring other toothbrushes within the same price range as the Oral-B 1000 and Sonicare 1100 opens up a variety of options, each with its own set of features that cater to different preferences and dental needs:

  1. Quip Electric Toothbrush: Known for its sleek design and subscription-based service, Quip offers simplicity and efficiency with gentle vibrations and a two-minute timer.
  2. Burst Curve Sonic Toothbrush: Designed with travel in mind, this toothbrush features a slim profile and a protective travel case.
  3. Philips One by Sonicare: This is a budget-friendly, travel-ready toothbrush from the Sonicare line. It offers the core Sonicare cleaning technology with high-frequency brush movements.

My Experience & Expertise

As a dentist, my preference leans towards the Sonicare 1100 for its gentle bristles and advanced sonic technology that provides an effective clean while being kind to the gums.

It’s an excellent choice for those with sensitivity or looking for a smooth brushing experience.

However, the Oral-B 1000 remains a formidable option, with the distinction of being approved by the American Dental Association (ADA), showcasing its efficacy in maintaining oral health. Both are top-tier choices, but the Sonicare 1100 gets my nod for daily use.

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you’ll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we’ll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Oral-B Pro 1000 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Product Review

Oral-B Pro 1000 Electric Toothbrush Review

Brushing our teeth is a twice-daily ritual, but are we truly getting the clean our teeth deserve? With many options crowding the market, picking a toothbrush that ensures both efficiency and reliability is essential. Enter the Oral-B Pro 1000 Electric Toothbrush—a brand that has received a nod of approval from many dentists. But what makes it stand out? In this in-depth review, we’ll examine this tooth-cleaning dynamo’s features, pros, and cons.

Got Gingivitis? | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Common Questions | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

Understanding Gingivitis: Causes, Symptoms & Effective Treatments

Have you recently visited the dentist for a basic cleaning only to hear you have gingivitis? You’re not alone; 94% of Americans have gingivitis. If gingivitis is left untreated, it can progress into gum disease…

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.