Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate

Are you tired of struggling to remove stubborn plaque with a manual toothbrush?

The Philips Sonicare 2100 electric toothbrush promises to make your brushing routine easier and more effective.

With up to 3 times better plaque removal than a manual toothbrush, this rechargeable toothbrush uses sonic technology and a specially designed brush head to deliver a powerful yet gentle clean.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

[icon type=”fas fa-arrow-right” color=”#5d9ee1″]¬†Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

2 Brushing Modes
Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Rechargeable Power Toothbrush
$34.96 $29.49

Two different intensity settings achieve a gentle yet effective clean.

2-minute SmarTimer with QuadPacer ensures Dentist-recommended brushing time.

Slim ergonomic design makes brushing easier and more comfortable.

Easy-start gently eases you into the electric brushing experience by gradually increasing the power.

Long battery life with battery light indicator: One charge last for 2 weeks.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/15/2024 09:05 am GMT

First Impressions

Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate

The Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush is a top-notch option for dependable and effective toothbrushes.

You’ll notice its sleek and contemporary appearance as soon as you unpack it.

The toothbrush boasts a slender and ergonomic handle that fits snugly in your hand. However, I would have appreciated gripping features to prevent slipping.

One of the most impressive aspects of this toothbrush is its advanced Sonicare technology, along with two variable brushing modes.

The bristle motion is remarkably rapid, making it an excellent choice for those upgrading from a manual toothbrush.

The Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush is also notable for its simplicity. It doesn’t come with too many extra features, but it doesn’t need to.

The toothbrush is straightforward and easy to use, with just one button to turn it on and off (also functions to rotate brushing modes).

[icon type=”fas fa-arrow-right” color=”#5d9ee1″]  Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 2100 vs. 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

While the W-shaped brush head and feathered bristles are fantastic additions, I was particularly pleased with the variable-length bristles.

However, I was disappointed with the brush handle’s slickness, which made it difficult to grip, and the toothbrush head’s hard plastic, which caused it to rattle against my teeth.

Overall, my initial impressions of the Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush are positive. It’s a well-designed and efficient toothbrush that provides a deep clean without unnecessary frills.

If you’re looking for a dependable and uncomplicated electric toothbrush at a reasonable price, the Sonicare 2100 is definitely worth considering.

Overall Rating0

Pros

  • Advanced sonic technology
  • Highly affordable
  • 2-minute auto timer
  • 30-second quad pacer
  • 2 Brushing modes
  • #1 dental professional brand

Cons

  • No extra brush heads
  • 14-day battery life
  • Lacks smartphone connectivity

Innovative Features

Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate

The Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush has innovative features that make it a top choice for individuals looking for an affordable and effective electric toothbrush.

Key Features

  • Advanced Sonic Technology: The Sonicare's sonic pulses clean between teeth, breaking up and sweeping away plaque for a thorough daily clean.
  • Long Battery Life for Convenience: With up to 14 days of use on a single charge, the Sonicare 2100 is perfect for on-the-go lifestyles without frequent charging worries.
  • High-Quality Bristles for Effective Cleaning: Its densely-packed bristles remove up to 3x more plaque than manual brushes. The contoured design reaches all areas, ensuring a comprehensive clean.
  • Smartimer and Quadpacer for Guided Brushing: The 2-minute Smartimer aligns with recommended brushing time, and the Quadpacer signals every 30 seconds to move to a new mouth quadrant.
  • Easy-Start for Comfortable Transition: The Easy-Start technology gradually increases brushing intensity, making it ideal for those new to electric toothbrushes.
  • Two Brushing Modes for Personalized Care: Choose between "clean" and "gentle" modes. The gentle mode is especially good for sensitive gums.
[icon type="fas fa-arrow-right" color="#5d9ee1"] Recommended Reading: Best Sonicare Replacement Brush Heads 2023 (Ultimate Guide)

Dentist Review

Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate

I found the Philips Sonicare 2100 electric toothbrush to be highly effective in removing plaque, especially around the back of my molars.

After using it for an extended period, I can confidently say that this toothbrush is a game-changer for oral hygiene.

The toothbrush's powerful motor generates a sonic cleaning effect at 31,000 strokes per minute, providing a thorough cleaning experience.

In fact, the Sonicare 2100 is clinically proven to remove up to 3 times more plaque than a manual toothbrush.

The toothbrush's slim handle features a 2-minute timer and 30-second pacer, encouraging a good brushing routine.

The timer ensures that you brush for the recommended two minutes, while the pacer reminds you to move to a different area of the mouth every 30 seconds.

I was impressed by how efficiently the brush head bristles removed food particles between my teeth. This toothbrush is a significant upgrade from a standard manual toothbrush.

The Sonicare 2100 also boasts a unique cleaning mode that is gentle on teeth and gums, making it ideal for those with sensitive teeth or gums.

This mode provides a gentle yet effective cleaning experience that leaves your teeth feeling clean and refreshed.

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 2100 electric toothbrush is a highly effective tool for improving oral health.

Its powerful motor, variable brushing modes, and simple features make it a great choice for anyone looking to ditch their manual toothbrush.

Philips Sonicare 1100 vs. 2100 Electric Toothbrush

Philips Sonicare 1100 vs. 2100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate


The Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 and 2100 electric toothbrushes are popular for those seeking an upgrade from a manual toothbrush.

While they share some similarities, they also have some key differences.

The Sonicare 1100 is generally more affordable than the Sonicare 2100 and features 1 brushing mode, making it a budget-friendly option for those looking to switch to an electric toothbrush.

On the other hand, the Sonicare 2100 is more expensive and features 2 brushing modes, making it a more advanced option for those seeking more customization options.

For comparison, Aquasonic Black Series Electric Toothbrush and Vibe Series Electric Toothbrush feature 40,000 vibrations/min, Burst Sonic Toothbrush features 33,000 vibrations/min, and 7am2m Sonic Electric Toothbrush features 31,000 vibrations/min.

Despite their differences, both toothbrushes come with the same C1 brush head and have a 14-day battery life, making them convenient and practical for daily use. Ultimately, the choice between the Sonicare 1100 and 2100 comes down to personal preference and budget.

[icon type="fas fa-arrow-right" color="#5d9ee1"] Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Electric Toothbrush Review

Alternative Options

Philips Sonicare offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs.

They have a kids' electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, power flossers, premium electric toothbrushes and battery-powered toothbrushes.

Additionally, Sonicare offers various brush heads ranging from gentle to whitening and everything in between. Thousands of dentists trust Philips Sonicare globally and is a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip's smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Philip Sonicare's diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you will surely find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

5X Plaque Removal
Philips Sonicare 4100 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
$39.9620

Removes up to 5x-7x more plaque vs. a manual toothbrush.

A pressure sensor and two intensity settings protect sensitive gums from overbrushing. 2-minute SmarTimer with QuadPacer ensures Dentist-recommended brushing time

A brush head replacement reminder ensures your brush head is always effective. Long battery life with battery light indicator: One charge lasts for 2 weeks.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/14/2024 08:10 am GMT
Whitens Teeth
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$129.96 $109.96

Gentle yet effective to whiten teeth in just 1 week vs. a manual toothbrush

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/13/2024 09:50 am GMT

My Experience & Expertise

The Philips Sonicare 2100 electric toothbrush is a great choice for those looking to step up from a manual toothbrush.

It provides a thorough cleaning using two variable brushing modes and is easy for travel.

While the toothbrush comes with just a USB cord and not a wall plug, it is compatible with most USB wall adapters or you can request one from Sonicare. The battery life is satisfactory, lasting several days on a single charge.

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 2100 electric toothbrush is a solid choice for those seeking an exceptional clean using two variable brushing modes.

I believe it's a great product with an affordable price; however, I would have appreciated extra brush heads, as those can be expensive.

Overall Rating0
2 Brushing Modes
Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Rechargeable Power Toothbrush
$34.96 $29.49

Two different intensity settings achieve a gentle yet effective clean.

2-minute SmarTimer with QuadPacer ensures Dentist-recommended brushing time.

Slim ergonomic design makes brushing easier and more comfortable.

Easy-start gently eases you into the electric brushing experience by gradually increasing the power.

Long battery life with battery light indicator: One charge last for 2 weeks.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/15/2024 09:05 am GMT

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you'll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we'll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Happy Kid at the Dentist | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Common Questions | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Kids Dentistry

What Is A Pediatric Dentist? (Kids Dentist)

Most parents can attest to the challenges of getting their kids in the car, let alone brushing their teeth before bed. The struggle is real! Can you imagine the difficulties a dentist would have fixing a cavity? As a dentist, restoring a tooth in an uncooperative child…

Best Electric Toothbrush for Periodontal Disease | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Buying Guide | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health | Product Review

5 Best Electric Toothbrush for Periodontal Disease 2024 (Dentist-Recommended)

Electric toothbrushes have transformed oral hygiene. They can reduce plaque and reach between teeth better than manual toothbrushing. When managing periodontal disease, it becomes critical to choose a toothbrush that can offer deep cleaning without aggravating sensitive gums.

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted.¬†I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.