Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

In the realm of dental care, the Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush emerges as a revolutionary player.

This cutting-edge device transcends standard cleaning, delivering a superior brushing experience that rewards you with a rejuvenated and sparkling smile.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush from a dentist’s perspective.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

Charging Case
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6500 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$179.96

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder.

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure dental professional-recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/26/2024 07:45 pm GMT

First Impressions

Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Upon unboxing, the toothbrush boasts a simple yet refined design.

I received a cobalt blue variant, symbolizing a fashionable approach to dental hygiene.

The device is compact and light, sitting comfortably in the hand. It is well-balanced, neither feeling top-heavy nor unwieldy, reflecting its ergonomic design.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 6100 vs. 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

What truly left a lasting first impression was its premium feel and construction. The materials exude a luxurious tactile sensation, suggesting that this toothbrush is built to stand the test of time.

The metallic accents add a pleasing heft, further bolstering the sense of quality and durability.

When I activated the Sonicare 6500 for the first time, I was pleasantly surprised by its quiet operation, significantly less noisy than other electric toothbrushes I’ve used before.

Yet, it didn’t appear to sacrifice any power.

The sonic vibrations were palpable, hinting at an exhaustive cleaning session. With the capacity to deliver up to 62,000 brush movements per minute, I’m eager to witness the results firsthand.

The toothbrush also incorporates a user-friendly interface.

The buttons are conveniently positioned and easy to operate, and the discreet LED indicators for the different brushing modes and intensity levels are a considerate inclusion, making it straightforward to select between the Clean, White, and Gum Care modes.

Additionally, the toothbrush has an extra brush head and a charging-enabled travel case, a definite bonus for frequent travelers.

Cleaning Modes

  • Clean mode – optimal for daily cleaning
  • White mode – ideal for eradicating surface stains
  • Gum Care mode – perfect for tenderly massaging gums

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 6500 has left a remarkable first impression. Philips has committed significant effort to marrying aesthetics with practicality.

 Recommended Reading: Best Sonicare Replacement Brush Heads 2023 (Ultimate Guide)

This toothbrush gives the impression that it’s designed to deliver a superior and personalized brushing experience, but as always, the real test will be in the brushing. Continue reading for my comprehensive review.

Overall Rating0

Pros

  • Advanced sonic technology
  • 62k vibrations/min
  • Charging travel case
  • 2-minute auto timer
  • 30-second quad pacer
  • 3 Brushing modes
  • 3 Intensity settings
  • SmartSync technology
  • Microchip-enabled
  • #1 dental professional brand
  • Extra brush head

Cons

  • Expensive
  • No tongue cleaner

Innovative Features

Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

The Philips Sonicare 6500 electric toothbrush is a fantastic blend of innovative design and cutting-edge technology.

It comes packed with several features, similar to the Philips Sonicare 6100, that make this tool stand out in the crowded field of dental hygiene products.

Key Features

  • Advanced Sonic Technology: Breaks up plaque effectively with dynamic fluid action.
  • Customizable Settings: Offers 3 intensity levels and 3 modes - Clean, White, Gum Care.
  • Long Battery Life: Up to 14 days on a single charge, great for travelers.
  • Pressure Sensor: Detects too much pressure, protects gums, and improves brushing habits.
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer: Ensures 2-minute brushing and even cleaning across your mouth.
  • BrushSync Technology: Tracks brush head usage, alerts when it's time to replace.
  • Easy-Start: Gradually increases intensity, making it comfortable for new users.
  • Whitens Teeth in 1 Week: Special brush head designed for stain removal.
  • Microchip-Enabled: Syncs brush head and handle for smart usage reminders.
  • Premium Travel Case: Hygienic storage and charging, ideal for frequent travelers.

Dentist Review

Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
W Diamond Clean Brush Head

Having used the Philips Sonicare 6500 electric toothbrush for a full week, I can confidently share my insights regarding its performance.

From the inaugural use, a notable difference in the cleanliness of my teeth was evident.

The cutting-edge sonic technology eliminates plaque and food particles from the hard-to-reach corners of my mouth.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 7500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

The swift vibrations were comprehensive and potent, yet gentle on my gums and teeth.

The three cleaning modes were truly transformative. The 'Clean' mode was an excellent fit for my regular brushing routine, delivering an exhaustive clean that left my mouth feeling invigorated and refreshed.

The 'Gum Care' mode provided a calming experience, particularly for my sensitive gums. It was gentle yet proficient, and I appreciated the compact brush head size for cleaning around my back molars.

The pressure sensor technology also proved to be a remarkable feature. The gentle reminder to avoid applying too much pressure was invaluable, aiding me in maintaining a correct and effective brushing technique.

I am keen to see how this feature will remind me to replace the brush head.

The Smartimer and Quadpacer was instrumental in ensuring that I brushed for the dentist-recommended two minutes and dedicated equal attention to all areas of my mouth. I found these features beneficial, particularly during the morning hustle when rushing through the brushing routine is tempting.

Regarding the battery life, it proved to be remarkably resilient. After a week of twice-daily usage, the battery indicator demonstrated that there was still a substantial charge remaining. This is a significant boon, as I often forget to recharge my toothbrush routinely.

While the overall performance of the Philips Sonicare 6500 is commendable, it's crucial to discuss a few concerns I encountered during my week of use.

The toothbrush handle, though sleek and modern in design, had a tendency to become quite slippery when wet. During a few brushing sessions, I felt it sliding in my hand.

This didn't affect the overall functionality but is something to be aware of, especially if you tend to grip your toothbrush tightly.

Additionally, while I appreciated the compact size of the brush head for its ability to navigate the challenging corners of my mouth, one feature I found missing was a rubber tongue cleaner on the back. I've used toothbrushes with this feature before and found it very practical.

The lack of a rubber tongue cleaner meant the plastic back of the head could clang against my teeth, which was slightly uncomfortable.

Despite these minor issues, I firmly believe the Philips Sonicare 6500's advantages significantly outshine these concerns. Its exceptional cleaning abilities, extended battery life, and customizable settings make it an outstanding toothbrush.

However, these points should be considered, depending on your individual preferences and brushing habits.

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 6500 has surpassed my expectations regarding its effectiveness. It's not merely a toothbrush; it's an all-encompassing oral hygiene implement.

My mouth has never felt cleaner, my teeth appear brighter, and my gums feel more robust. Based on my experience, the Sonicare 6500 delivers on its promise of an optimal clean.

Sonicare 6100 vs. 6500 (What's the Difference?)

The Philips Sonicare 6100 and 6500 are excellent electric toothbrushes, but a few key differences justify the 6500's higher price point.

While both models offer superior cleaning with advanced sonic technology and multiple cleaning modes, the Sonicare 6500 takes it further.

The Sonicare 6500 includes an extra brush head, which adds value and convenience, extending the duration before purchasing replacements. This model also introduces additional features for a more personalized brushing experience, giving you more control over your oral health routine.

Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

Furthermore, the Sonicare 6500 has a charging travel case, making it even more travel-friendly. This case protects your toothbrush and charges it, ensuring it is always ready to use on the go.

In short, while the Sonicare 6100 is a fantastic toothbrush, the Sonicare 6500 offers additional features and accessories that enhance its usability and convenience, justifying the higher price point.

Whitens Teeth
Charging Case
4.7
4.8
$129.96$109.00
$179.96
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head
  • Travel Case
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head (2)
  • Charging Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
  • Expensive
Whitens Teeth
4.7
$129.96$109.00
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head
  • Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
Charging Case
4.8
$179.96
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head (2)
  • Charging Travel Case
  • Expensive
05/29/2024 06:50 pm GMT

Alternative Options

Philips Sonicare offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs.

They have a kids' electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, power flossers, premium electric toothbrushes and battery-powered toothbrushes.

Additionally, Sonicare offers various brush heads ranging from gentle to whitening and everything in between. Thousands of dentists trust Philips Sonicare globally and is a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For comparison, Aquasonic Black Series Electric Toothbrush and Vibe Series Electric Toothbrush feature 40,000 vibrations/min, Burst Sonic Toothbrush features 33,000 vibrations/min, and 7am2m Sonic Electric Toothbrush features 31,000 vibrations/min.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip's smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Philip Sonicare's diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you will surely find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

Advanced Sonic Technology
Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$39.95

Innovative Sonicare technology gently pulses fluid between the teeth and along the gum line for a gentle and effective clean every time​.

EasyStart program helps you gradually get used to the sonic brushing power​.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/26/2024 08:00 pm GMT
Microchip-Enabled
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$79.9620

Improve your gum health up to 100% better than a manual toothbrush with the Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5100 rechargeable electric toothbrush.

Features a pressure sensor that protects teeth and gums from excess brushing pressure. BrushSync technology tracks how long you have been using your G2 Optimal Gum Care brush head and how hard you have been brushing.

The electric toothbrush will beep to inform you when to replace your brush head.

Customize your own brushing experience with your choice of 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/27/2024 05:15 pm GMT

My Experience & Expertise

After a week of putting the Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush to the test, I can confidently assert that it's a top-tier, superior-quality device that delivers an unparalleled brushing experience.

The fusion of progressive features and state-of-the-art technology distinguishes it from many other electric toothbrushes.

The proficiency of its cleaning performance, the practicality of its enduring battery life, and the customization facilitated by its diverse modes and intensity settings have all contributed to a significantly enhanced oral hygiene regimen for me.

The refined design and user-friendly interface further augment the overall user experience, making the Sonicare 6500 both efficient and pleasurable.

As someone who prioritizes dental hygiene and appreciates a top-quality, convenient, and effective product, I have found the Philips Sonicare 6500 a worthwhile investment.

It fulfills its promise of offering an exhaustive clean that results in healthier teeth and gums. I would undoubtedly recommend the Sonicare 6500 to anyone seeking to elevate their oral care routine.

Overall Rating0
Charging Case
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6500 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$179.96

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder.

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure dental professional-recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/26/2024 07:45 pm GMT

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you'll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we'll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Gingivitis vs. Healthy Gums | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Common Questions | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

Gingivitis vs Healthy Gums (What’s the Difference?)

You may have gingivitis and not even know it! Harmful bacteria that cause gingivitis can progress into severe gum disease or creep into your bloodstream (yuck!). Most patients with gingivitis or gum disease are unaware because…

5 Best Mouthwash for Braces | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Buying Guide | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

Best Mouthwash for Braces (Full Review)

Navigating the world with braces can be a challenge, especially when it comes to maintaining oral hygiene. The intricate network of wires and brackets provides an ideal hiding place for food particles and plaque, which can lead to dental issues if not taken care of.

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.