Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023

, ,
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Matt Hannan, DDS
Updated: October 7, 2023
Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

In the realm of dental care, the Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush emerges as a revolutionary player. This cutting-edge device transcends standard cleaning, delivering a superior brushing experience that rewards you with a rejuvenated and sparkling smile.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 200+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush from a dentist’s perspective.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Sonic Toothbrush Review 2023 + PROMO Code | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.5/10 $$

Charging Case
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6500 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$179.96 $109.95

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder.

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure dental professional-recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/30/2023 06:55 pm GMT

First Impressions

Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Upon unboxing, the toothbrush boasts a simple yet refined design. I received a cobalt blue variant, symbolizing a fashionable approach to dental hygiene.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan a Question!

The device is compact and light, sitting comfortably in the hand. It is well-balanced, neither feeling top-heavy nor unwieldy, reflecting its ergonomic design.

What truly left a lasting first impression was its premium feel and construction. The materials exude a luxurious tactile sensation, suggesting that this toothbrush is built to stand the test of time. The metallic accents add a pleasing heft, further bolstering the sense of quality and durability.

When I activated the Sonicare 6500 for the first time, I was pleasantly surprised by its quiet operation, significantly less noisy than other electric toothbrushes I’ve used before. Yet, it didn’t appear to sacrifice any power.

The sonic vibrations were palpable, hinting at an exhaustive cleaning session. With the capacity to deliver up to 62,000 brush movements per minute, I’m eager to witness the results firsthand.

The toothbrush also incorporates a user-friendly interface. The buttons are conveniently positioned and easy to operate, and the discreet LED indicators for the different brushing modes and intensity levels are a considerate inclusion, making it straightforward to select between the Clean, White, and Gum Care modes.

Additionally, the toothbrush has an extra brush head and a charging-enabled travel case, a definite bonus for frequent travelers.

Cleaning Modes

  • Clean mode – optimal for daily cleaning
  • White mode – ideal for eradicating surface stains
  • Gum Care mode – perfect for tenderly massaging gums

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 6500 has left a remarkable first impression. Philips has committed significant effort to marrying aesthetics with practicality. This toothbrush gives the impression that it’s designed to deliver a superior and personalized brushing experience, but as always, the real test will be in the brushing. Continue reading for my comprehensive review.

 Recommended Reading: Best Sonicare Replacement Brush Heads 2023 (Ultimate Guide)

Innovative Features

Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

The Philips Sonicare 6500 electric toothbrush is a fantastic blend of innovative design and cutting-edge technology. It comes packed with several features, similar to the Philips Sonicare 6100, that make this tool stand out in the crowded field of dental hygiene products.

Key Features

  • Advanced Sonic Technology: The Sonicare 6500 utilizes Philips’ patented sonic technology to provide an incredibly effective cleaning experience. This technology creates a dynamic fluid action that pulses water between your teeth, and couples with high-frequency brush strokes to break up and sweep away plaque.
  • 3 Intensity Settings + 3 Cleaning Modes: The 6500 doesn’t take a one-size-fits-all approach to dental care. Instead, it offers three intensity settings and three cleaning modes – Clean, White, and Gum Care. These options allow you to customize your brushing experience based on your specific needs and preferences.
  • Long Battery Life: With the Sonicare 6500, you don’t have to worry about constantly recharging your toothbrush. It boasts an impressive battery life, providing up to 14 days of regular use on a single charge. This feature is perfect for travelers and those with a busy lifestyle, ensuring your toothbrush is always ready when you need it.
  • Pressure Sensor: Built-in pressure sensor automatically detects the pressure you apply, warns you, and reduces the toothbrush vibrations automatically to help protect your gums. The toothbrush will make a pulsing sound as a reminder to ease off the pressure. 7 out of 10 people found this feature helped them become better brushers.
  • Smartimer and Quadpacer: The built-in Smartimer and Quadpacer take the guesswork out of brushing for the dentist-recommended two minutes, ensuring an even clean by reminding you when to switch areas of your mouth.
  • BrushSync Technology: The innovative BrushSync technology is another feature that deserves mention. It tracks how long you’ve been using your brush head for, and how hard you’ve been brushing. When it’s time to replace the brush head, a light on your handle and a short beep will let you know. This removes the guesswork of replacements and ensures you always get the most effective clean.
  • Easy-Start Technology: The Sonicare 6500 is programmed with Easy-Start technology, which gradually increases the intensity of the brushing action over the course of 14 brushing sessions. This feature helps users get used to the electric toothbrush and ensures a comfortable brushing experience.
  • Whitens Teeth in 1 Week: Click on the W DiamondClean brush head to remove surface stains and reveal a whiter smile. With its densely packed central stain-removal bristles, it’s clinically proven to whiten teeth in just one week.
  • Microchip-Enabled Technology: The toothbrush detects and synchronizes the smart brush head with the smart handle. The smart handle and smart brush head pair are powerful combinations that enable Smart replacement reminders.
  • Premium (Charging) Travel Case: The Sonicare 6500 has a premium charging travel case, allowing you to store your toothbrush hygienically and charge it simultaneously. It’s a small detail that makes a big difference, particularly for those who travel frequently.

Effectiveness

Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
W Diamond Clean Brush Head

Having used the Philips Sonicare 6500 electric toothbrush for a full week, I can confidently share my insights regarding its performance.

From the inaugural use, a notable difference in the cleanliness of my teeth was evident. The cutting-edge sonic technology eliminates plaque and food particles from the hard-to-reach corners of my mouth. The swift vibrations were comprehensive and potent, yet gentle on my gums and teeth.

The three cleaning modes were truly transformative. The ‘Clean’ mode was an excellent fit for my regular brushing routine, delivering an exhaustive clean that left my mouth feeling invigorated and refreshed.

The ‘Gum Care’ mode provided a calming experience, particularly for my sensitive gums. It was gentle yet proficient, and I appreciated the compact brush head size for cleaning around my back molars.

The pressure sensor technology also proved to be a remarkable feature. The gentle reminder to avoid applying too much pressure was invaluable, aiding me in maintaining a correct and effective brushing technique. I am keen to see how this feature will remind me to replace the brush head.

The Smartimer and Quadpacer was instrumental in ensuring that I brushed for the dentist-recommended two minutes and dedicated equal attention to all areas of my mouth. I found these features beneficial, particularly during the morning hustle when rushing through the brushing routine is tempting.

Regarding the battery life, it proved to be remarkably resilient. After a week of twice-daily usage, the battery indicator demonstrated that there was still a substantial charge remaining. This is a significant boon, as I often forget to recharge my toothbrush routinely.

While the overall performance of the Philips Sonicare 6500 is commendable, it’s crucial to discuss a few concerns I encountered during my week of use.

The toothbrush handle, though sleek and modern in design, had a tendency to become quite slippery when wet. During a few brushing sessions, I felt it sliding in my hand. This didn’t affect the overall functionality but is something to be aware of, especially if you tend to grip your toothbrush tightly.

Additionally, while I appreciated the compact size of the brush head for its ability to navigate the challenging corners of my mouth, one feature I found missing was a rubber tongue cleaner on the back. I’ve used toothbrushes with this feature before and found it very practical. The lack of a rubber tongue cleaner meant the plastic back of the head could clang against my teeth, which was slightly uncomfortable.

Despite these minor issues, I firmly believe the Philips Sonicare 6500’s advantages significantly outshine these concerns. Its exceptional cleaning abilities, extended battery life, and customizable settings make it an outstanding toothbrush. However, these points should be considered, depending on your individual preferences and brushing habits.

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 6500 has surpassed my expectations regarding its effectiveness. It’s not merely a toothbrush; it’s an all-encompassing oral hygiene implement. My mouth has never felt cleaner, my teeth appear brighter, and my gums feel more robust. Based on my experience, the Sonicare 6500 delivers on its promise of an optimal clean.

Product Pros

  • Advanced sonic technology
  • 62k vibrations/min
  • Charging travel case
  • 2-minute auto timer
  • 30-second quad pacer
  • 3 Brushing modes
  • 3 Intensity settings
  • SmartSync technology
  • Microchip-enabled
  • #1 dental professional brand
  • Extra brush head

Product Cons

  • Expensive
  • No tongue cleaner

Sonicare 6100 vs. 6500 (What’s the Difference?)

The Philips Sonicare 6100 and 6500 are excellent electric toothbrushes, but a few key differences justify the 6500’s higher price point. While both models offer superior cleaning with advanced sonic technology and multiple cleaning modes, the Sonicare 6500 takes it further.

The Sonicare 6500 includes an extra brush head, which adds value and convenience, extending the duration before purchasing replacements. This model also introduces additional features for a more personalized brushing experience, giving you more control over your oral health routine.

Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023

Furthermore, the Sonicare 6500 has a charging travel case, making it even more travel-friendly. This case protects your toothbrush and charges it, ensuring it is always ready to use on the go.

In short, while the Sonicare 6100 is a fantastic toothbrush, the Sonicare 6500 offers additional features and accessories that enhance its usability and convenience, justifying the higher price point.

Whitens Teeth
Charging Case
4.6
4.7
$129.96$109.96
$179.96$109.95
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head
  • Extra Brush Head
  • Charging Travel Case
Whitens Teeth
4.6
$129.96$109.96
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head
Charging Case
4.7
$179.96$109.95
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head
  • Extra Brush Head
  • Charging Travel Case
11/30/2023 11:10 am GMT

Simple & Sleek Electric Toothbrushes

Philips Sonicare offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs. They have a kids’ electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, power flossers, premium electric toothbrushes and battery-powered toothbrushes.

Additionally, Sonicare offers various brush heads ranging from gentle to whitening and everything in between. Thousands of dentists trust Philips Sonicare globally and is a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For comparison, Aquasonic Black Series Electric Toothbrush and Vibe Series Electric Toothbrush feature 40,000 vibrations/min, Burst Sonic Toothbrush features 33,000 vibrations/min, and 7am2m Sonic Electric Toothbrush features 31,000 vibrations/min.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip’s smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Philip Sonicare’s diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you will surely find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

Best Plaque Removal
Philips Sonicare for Kids Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
$29.96

Philips Sonicare “has revolutionized the electric toothbrush and is the #1 dental professional recommended sonic toothbrush brand”. At Philips, their purpose is to improve people’s health and well-being through meaningful innovation. They offer many styles for kids and adults.

Also, there’s a wide range from simple battery-powered One Toothbrush to advanced Bluetooth pairing DiamondClean Toothbrush. The Kids Power Toothbrush offers a quality electric toothbrush at an affordable price. Also, it comes with fun, interchangeable stickers for kids to personalize their toothbrushes.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/30/2023 12:55 pm GMT
Advanced Sonic Technology
Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$29.73

Innovative Sonicare technology gently pulses fluid between the teeth and along the gum line for a gentle and effective clean every time​.

EasyStart program helps you gradually get used to the sonic brushing power​.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/30/2023 07:20 pm GMT
Microchip-Enabled
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$99.99 $89.96

Improve your gum health up to 100% better than a manual toothbrush with the Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5100 rechargeable electric toothbrush.

Features a pressure sensor that protects teeth and gums from excess brushing pressure. BrushSync technology tracks how long you have been using your G2 Optimal Gum Care brush head and how hard you have been brushing.

The electric toothbrush will beep to inform you when to replace your brush head.

Customize your own brushing experience with your choice of 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/29/2023 08:20 pm GMT
Removes 99% Plaque
Philips Sonicare 3000 Cordless Power Flosser
$79.99 $69.96

Up to 150% more effective than floss for healthier gums

Unique Quad Stream creates four wide streams of water for a thorough clean between teeth and along the gum line. Waterproof and cordless with 14-day battery life for ultimate convenience.

Pulse Wave Technology gently pulses water to guide from tooth to tooth so you don't miss a spot. Whisper quiet design engineered for a discreet clean so you get great results without disturbing others.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/30/2023 12:50 pm GMT
Plaque Control
Philips Sonicare C2 Optimal Plaque Control Toothbrush Heads
$31.96 $27.96 ($9.32 / Count)

Genuine Philips Sonicare rechargeable electric toothbrush head compatible with all Philips Sonicare click-on rechargeable toothbrush handles.

The Philips Sonicare C2 Optimal Plaque Control toothbrush head (formerly ProResults plaque control) is perfect for those who want to maintain optimal plaque removal as part of their everyday oral healthcare routine.

BrushSync mode-pairing & replacement reminders when used with a BrushSync compatible handle (DiamondClean Smart or ProtectiveClean).

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/30/2023 11:45 am GMT

Final Thoughts

After a week of putting the Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush to the test, I can confidently assert that it’s a top-tier, superior-quality device that delivers an unparalleled brushing experience. The fusion of progressive features and state-of-the-art technology distinguishes it from many other electric toothbrushes.

The proficiency of its cleaning performance, the practicality of its enduring battery life, and the customization facilitated by its diverse modes and intensity settings have all contributed to a significantly enhanced oral hygiene regimen for me. The refined design and user-friendly interface further augment the overall user experience, making the Sonicare 6500 both efficient and pleasurable.

As someone who prioritizes dental hygiene and appreciates a top-quality, convenient, and effective product, I have found the Philips Sonicare 6500 a worthwhile investment. It fulfills its promise of offering an exhaustive clean that results in healthier teeth and gums. I would undoubtedly recommend the Sonicare 6500 to anyone seeking to elevate their oral care routine.

My Dental Advocate Score | 9.5/10

Charging Case
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6500 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$179.96 $109.95

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder.

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure dental professional-recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
11/30/2023 06:55 pm GMT

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic Toothbrush Review 2023 + PROMO Code | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean Sonic Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B Pro 1000 Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 8.7/10
  26. Bitvae R2 Rotating Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 8.5/10
  27. Quip Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 8.5/10
  28. Colgate Hum Electric Toothbrush Review 2023 | 7.5/10

Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you’ll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we’ll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!