Philips Sonicare 1100 vs. 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 1100 vs. 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Brushing your teeth has never been more advanced!

Dive into our detailed comparison of Philips Sonicare 1100 vs. 4100 electric toothbrushes.

Uncover the nuances and discover which brush offers you the ultimate oral care experience. Let the battle of the bristles begin!

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene. So, after using them for multiple days, let’s take a closer look from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

Advanced Sonic Technology
5X Plaque Removal
4.6
4.5
$39.95
$49.96$39.96
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 14-Day Battery Life
  • High-Quality Bristles
  • Smart Timer
  • Quad Pacer
  • Easy Start Technology
  • Inexpensive
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 14-Day Battery Life
  • High-Quality Bristles
  • Smart Timer
  • Quad Pacer
  • Easy Start Technology
  • C2 Optimal Plaque Control Brush Head
  • 2 Brushing Modes
  • Smart Sync Technology
  • No Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brushing Modes
  • No Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
Advanced Sonic Technology
4.6
$39.95
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 14-Day Battery Life
  • High-Quality Bristles
  • Smart Timer
  • Quad Pacer
  • Easy Start Technology
  • Inexpensive
  • No Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brushing Modes
5X Plaque Removal
4.5
$49.96$39.96
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 14-Day Battery Life
  • High-Quality Bristles
  • Smart Timer
  • Quad Pacer
  • Easy Start Technology
  • C2 Optimal Plaque Control Brush Head
  • 2 Brushing Modes
  • Smart Sync Technology
  • No Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
05/26/2024 08:00 pm GMT

Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Electric Toothbrush (Dentist Review)

Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100

The Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a reliable and efficient toothbrush.

Upon opening the package, you first notice the sleek and modern design.

The toothbrush has a slim, ergonomic handle that fits comfortably in your hand, making it easy to use for extended periods.

One of the most impressive features of this toothbrush is the Sonicare technology. It gently pulses water between your teeth, providing a deep clean that you can feel.

The bristle motion is surprisingly fast, making it an excellent option for those upgrading from a manual toothbrush.

Another thing that stands out about the Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush is its simplicity.

It doesn’t come with many extra bells and whistles, but it doesn’t need to. The toothbrush is straightforward, with just one button to turn it on and off.

The W-shaped brush head and feathered bristles are a great addition.

However, I would have appreciated having more than one brush head as it comes standard with Sonicare’s C1 brush head.

My first impressions of the Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush are positive. It’s a well-designed and efficient toothbrush that provides a deep clean without unnecessary frills.

If you’re looking for a reliable and straightforward electric toothbrush for an affordable price, the Sonicare 1100 is definitely worth considering.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 1100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

Advanced Sonic Technology
Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$39.95

Innovative Sonicare technology gently pulses fluid between the teeth and along the gum line for a gentle and effective clean every time​.

EasyStart program helps you gradually get used to the sonic brushing power​.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/26/2024 08:00 pm GMT

Philips Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush (Dentist Review)

Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 4100

As a seasoned dentist, I’ve used countless dental products. However, the Philips Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush has quickly become a standout in my book.

From the moment I opened the box, I was impressed by the toothbrush’s sleek design.

The Philips Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush has a charging base, a brush head cover, and a single C2 “plaque removal” brush head.

The toothbrush’s charging base is compact and easy to use, with a simple plug-and-play design that makes it easy to charge the toothbrush.

After charging the toothbrush for the recommended 24 hours, I put the Philips Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush to the test.

I used the toothbrush for one week and observed the toothbrush’s bristles were soft and gentle on the teeth and gums.

While the brush head of the toothbrush was a perfect small size, I did notice that it lacked variable-length bristles and a tongue cleaner.

It would have been great to have these features as they can help to provide an even deeper clean and improve overall oral hygiene.

The toothbrush’s 31,000 vibrations/minute motor is powerful yet not too intense, making it suitable for users with sensitive teeth and gums.

In addition, with its automatic shut-off after two minutes and a specific vibration every 30 seconds, the toothbrush ensures that users brush for the recommended two minutes and brush all areas of their mouth evenly.

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush is a reliable, effective, and user-friendly option for anyone looking to improve their oral hygiene routine.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

5X Plaque Removal
Philips Sonicare 4100 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
$49.96 $39.96

Removes up to 5x-7x more plaque vs. a manual toothbrush.

A pressure sensor and two intensity settings protect sensitive gums from overbrushing. 2-minute SmarTimer with QuadPacer ensures Dentist-recommended brushing time

A brush head replacement reminder ensures your brush head is always effective. Long battery life with battery light indicator: One charge lasts for 2 weeks.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/26/2024 03:21 pm GMT

Similar Innovative Features

The Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Electric Toothbrush and Philips Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush have high-end features that make them a top choice for individuals looking for an affordable and practical electric toothbrush.

Key Features

  • Advanced Sonic Technology: Philips Sonicare’s technology delivers 68,000 vibrations per minute, effectively pulsing water between teeth and removing plaque for a superior clean.
  • Long Battery Life: The Sonicare 1100 and 4100 models offer up to 14 days of use on a single charge, perfect for on-the-go without frequent recharging.
  • High-Quality Bristles: Their densely-packed bristles remove 3x more plaque than manual brushes. Contoured for a precise fit, they easily reach tough spots.
  • Smartimer and Quadpacer: A 2-minute timer ensures you brush for the dentist-recommended duration, while the Quadpacer signals every 30 seconds for even cleaning across all mouth quadrants.
  • Easy-Start Technology: Gradually increases brushing intensity over 14 sessions, making the transition to electric brushing smooth and comfortable.
 Recommended Reading: Best Sonicare Replacement Brush Heads 2023 (Ultimate Guide)

Similar Effectiveness

Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare DailyClean C1 Brush Head

The Philips Sonicare 1100 and Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush models excelled in eradicating plaque, reaching even the most difficult corners of my mouth, yet were tender on my delicate gums and teeth.

The Sonicare 1100 and 4100 electric toothbrush models incorporate potent motors complemented by a spectrum of intensity settings.

This allowed me the flexibility to select a brushing mode that was not only comfortable but also maximized plaque removal.

The sophistication of these motors meant that the brush heads vibrated with precision, converting the toothpaste and my saliva into a bubbly mixture that seamlessly infiltrated the spaces between my teeth and ran along my gums, dispelling any trace of plaque.

A feature of these models that I especially appreciated was the integrated pressure sensor. This mechanism is designed to caution users if they exert undue pressure while brushing.

This innovation was instrumental in ensuring I did not inadvertently harm my sensitive gums due to excessive brushing vigor.

In sum, the Philips Sonicare 1100 and Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush models showcased commendable proficiency in plaque elimination while ensuring they did not compromise the gentleness required for sensitive oral regions.

The adaptability of these models, paired with a broad spectrum of intensity modes and the provision of diverse brush heads, convinces me of their worth. They undoubtedly stand out as an invaluable tool for anyone pursuing a meticulously tailored oral hygiene regimen.

What’s the Difference Between 1100 & 4100?

Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
C2 Optimal Plaque Control Brush Head

The Philips Sonicare 1100 and Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrushes are designed to provide users with an exceptional oral cleaning experience. However, several key differences differentiate the two models:

Brush Head Type

  • Sonicare 1100: This model comes with a C1 brush head, which is designed to offer a thorough yet gentle cleaning experience. The C1 brush head can effectively remove plaque from the teeth and gums, making it suitable for everyday use.
  • Sonicare 4100: The 4100 model is equipped with the C2 brush head. This brush head is known for its enhanced capability to tackle plaque while still being gentle on gums. It often offers a slightly deeper clean compared to the C1.

Brushing Modes

  • Sonicare 1100: Designed for simplicity, the 1100 model offers a single-mode cleaning experience tailored for regular use.
  • Sonicare 4100: This model boasts two brushing modes, allowing users to switch between different cleaning intensities based on their oral care needs.

Brush Sync Technology

Only available in the Sonicare 4100, the Brush Sync technology is an advanced feature that can detect when a brush head needs replacing, ensuring users always get the most effective clean. This technology also syncs the brush head with the optimal brushing mode, optimizing the user experience.

Price Point

Given its advanced features, the Sonicare 4100 is priced higher than the Sonicare 1100. This increased cost reflects the added functionalities, like Brush Sync technology and an extra brushing mode, that cater to users looking for a more customizable experience.

Design and Aesthetics

While both models are inherently sleek and ergonomic, the 4100 may have subtle design improvements or variations due to its position as a more advanced model in the Sonicare lineup.

Alternative Options

Philips Sonicare offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs.

They have a kids’ electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, power flossers, premium electric toothbrushes and battery-powered toothbrushes.

Additionally, Sonicare offers various brush heads ranging from gentle to whitening and everything in between. Thousands of dentists trust Philips Sonicare globally and is a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip’s smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Philip Sonicare’s diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you will surely find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

Whitens Teeth
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$129.96 $109.00

Gentle yet effective to whiten teeth in just 1 week vs. a manual toothbrush

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/29/2024 06:50 pm GMT
Bonus Brush Heads
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5300 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$109.96

Customize your experience with the three modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

Pressure sensor protects teeth and gums from excess brushing pressure while improving your gum health up to 100% more vs a manual toothbrush.

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with a BrushSync replacement reminder.

A 2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure dental professional-recommended brushing time and encourages brushing in each quadrant of the mouth.

Battery indicator light let's you know when to recharge; 2 week battery life.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/27/2024 06:20 pm GMT

My Experience & Expertise

In summary, while the Sonicare 1100 and 4100 effectively deliver a high-quality clean, the choice between them would largely depend on individual preferences and needs.

Those seeking advanced features, a deeper clean, and a more customizable experience might lean towards the 4100, while others looking for a straightforward and more budget-friendly option might opt for the 1100.

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you’ll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we’ll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.