Philips Sonicare 5100 vs. 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 5100 vs. 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Brushing your teeth is a daily ritual you can’t overlook, but all toothbrushes are not created equal.

If you’re in the market for an electric toothbrush that elevates your oral care routine, you’ve probably heard of Philips Sonicare’s two titans: the 5100 and the 6100.

Both offer remarkable features and claim to deliver a next-level clean, but how do they stack up against each other?

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene. So, after using them for multiple days, let’s take a closer look from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

Microchip-Enabled
Whitens Teeth
4.6
4.8
$96.49
$143.14(-55%)
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • Travel Case Provided
  • 3 Brushing Modes
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer
  • Microchip-Enabled
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • Travel Case Provided
  • 3 Brushing Modes
  • 3 Intensity Settings
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer
  • Microchip-Enabled
  • SmartSync Technology
Cons:
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
Cons:
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
Microchip-Enabled
4.6
$96.49
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • Travel Case Provided
  • 3 Brushing Modes
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer
  • Microchip-Enabled
Cons:
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
Whitens Teeth
4.8
$143.14(-55%)
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • Travel Case Provided
  • 3 Brushing Modes
  • 3 Intensity Settings
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer
  • Microchip-Enabled
  • SmartSync Technology
Cons:
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
02/18/2024 12:45 pm GMT
Philips Sonicare 5100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare 5100

Philips Sonicare 5100 Electric Toothbrush (Dentist Review)

The Philips Sonicare 5100 electric toothbrush is a great option for those desiring multiple brushing modes and advanced Sonicare technology.

With three brushing modes and a slim, ergonomic handle, it is easy to hold and maneuver while brushing.

Using Sonicare technology, the Sonicare 5100 delivers a deep clean that removes up to 10 times more plaque than a manual toothbrush.

The toothbrush also features a two-minute timer and a 30-second pacer, which reminds users to move to a different area of the mouth every 30 seconds.

In addition, the electric toothbrush features pressure sensor technology to notify you if you are brushing too hard.

The toothbrush comes with Sonicare’s G2 Optimal Gum Care brush head, with specially designed bristles and a small-shaped brush head to remove irritating plaque around the gums. The brush head is replaceable and should be changed every three months.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 5100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 5100 electric toothbrush is reliable and effective, providing deep clean and variable brushing modes.

Microchip-Enabled
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$96.49

Improve your gum health up to 100% better than a manual toothbrush with the Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5100 rechargeable electric toothbrush.

Features a pressure sensor that protects teeth and gums from excess brushing pressure. BrushSync technology tracks how long you have been using your G2 Optimal Gum Care brush head and how hard you have been brushing.

The electric toothbrush will beep to inform you when to replace your brush head.

Customize your own brushing experience with your choice of 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/18/2024 12:45 pm GMT
Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare 6100

Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush (Dentist Review)

The Philips Sonicare 6100 electric toothbrush is an excellent choice for individuals seeking advanced brushing capabilities and the proven effectiveness of Sonicare technology.

The toothbrush comes with three distinct brushing modes and three intensity levels.

The toothbrush also features a sleek, ergonomic handle for ease of use and comfort during brushing.

Capitalizing on Sonicare’s proprietary technology, the Sonicare 6100 provides a deep clean that removes up to 7 times more plaque than a manual toothbrush. This model also includes a two-minute timer and a 30-second pacer, ensuring an even and thorough cleaning by reminding users to switch areas of the mouth every half minute.

In addition, the Sonicare 6100 has a pressure sensor technology that alerts you if you’re applying too much pressure while brushing, helping protect your gums from potential damage.

The Sonicare 6100 comes with the brand’s W-shaped DiamondClean brush head. This component features specially designed bristles and a compact brush head shape for effective plaque removal and whitening.

Like all Sonicare brush heads, replacing this every three months is recommended to maintain optimal performance.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

In conclusion, the Philips Sonicare 6100 electric toothbrush is a reliable, high-performance oral care tool, offering a deep clean and a range of brushing modes to cater to varying dental needs.

Whitens Teeth
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$143.14(-55%)

Gentle yet effective to whiten teeth in just 1 week vs. a manual toothbrush

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/18/2024 02:15 am GMT

Similar Innovative Features

Philips Sonicare 5100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare G2 Optimal Gum Care Brush Head 5100 5300

When you’re dealing with high-quality products like the Philips Sonicare 5100 and 6100, you can expect a baseline of excellence.

Before we dive into what sets these two electric toothbrushes apart, let’s explore the groundbreaking features they share, which have set Philips Sonicare as a leader in the world of oral care.

Key Features

  • Advanced Sonic Technology: Philips Sonicare utilizes sonic technology to pulse water between teeth, effectively breaking up and removing plaque for a superior daily clean.
  • Extended Battery Life: The Sonicare 5100 and 6100 offer up to 14 days of use per charge, ideal for on-the-go lifestyles without frequent recharging.
  • High-Quality Bristles: Dense bristles remove 3x more plaque than manual toothbrushes, with a contoured design for effective cleaning of hard-to-reach areas.
  • Smartimer and Quadpacer: Feature a 2-minute timer for recommended brushing duration and a 30-second interval reminder for even coverage.
  • Easy-Start Technology: Gradually increases brushing intensity over 14 sessions, easing users into the electric toothbrush experience.
  • 3 Brushing Modes: Both models have “clean,” “white,” and “gum care” modes, catering to various dental needs, with “gum care” being ideal for sensitive gums.
  • Microchip-Enabled Technology: Syncs the smart brush head with the handle for effective use and timely replacement reminders.
  • Premium Travel Case: Offers hygienic storage and a compact charging base, ensuring two weeks of use on a single charge, perfect for travel.
  • BrushSync Technology: Monitors brush head usage and brushing pressure, alerting you when it’s time for a replacement for optimal cleaning efficiency.
 Recommended Reading: Best Sonicare Replacement Brush Heads 2023 (Ultimate Guide)

Similar Effectiveness

Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare W Diamond Clean Brush Head 6100

Having tried both the Philips Sonicare 5100 and 6100, I can confidently say that their performance in terms of plaque removal and overall cleaning is almost identical—and impressively effective.

When I used these toothbrushes, the Sonic technology’s rapid brush movements felt like they were truly scrubbing away all the hidden plaque and debris, even in the hard-to-reach corners of my mouth.

The dynamic cleaning action pushed fluids between my teeth and along my gumline, offering a sensation of thoroughness that I’ve never experienced with manual toothbrushes.

What stood out to me was the customizable modes for different oral health needs like gum care and whitening. Whether I was using the 5100 or the 6100, I had the option to adjust my brushing experience based on what I felt my teeth and gums needed that day.

Clinical studies back the effectiveness of these toothbrushes, stating that they remove up to 7 times more plaque than manual brushing. And from my personal experience, my mouth felt cleaner and my gums seemed healthier within just a couple of weeks.

In summary, if your main goal is to have a reliably effective cleaning experience, you can’t go wrong with the 5100 or the 6100.

Both toothbrushes offered a consistently high level of plaque removal, leaving me feeling like I’d just stepped out of a professional dental cleaning.

What’s the Difference Between 5100 & 6100?

While the Philips Sonicare 5100 and 6100 share a host of impressive features, one key difference sets them apart: the availability of intensity settings on the 6100 model. This feature turned out to be a game-changer in my personal experience.

The 5100 comes with multiple modes tailored for oral care—plaque removal, gum care, and whitening. However, it operates at a single intensity level for each mode.

The 6100, on the other hand, offers three different intensity settings—low, medium, and high—for each mode. This adds an extra layer of customization that I found incredibly useful.

The intensity settings in the 6100 allowed me to fine-tune my brushing experience even further.

On days when my gums felt a little sensitive, the low-intensity option was a relief, while the high-intensity setting offered a more vigorous cleaning, making my teeth feel as polished as they do after a visit to the dentist. It felt like I was getting a more personalized clean tailored to my comfort level and oral health needs.

So, if you’re looking for a toothbrush that allows you to control the intensity of your brushing, the 6100 is the model for you. This feature makes it a bit more versatile, offering you greater control over your oral care routine.

Overall, while both models are top-of-the-line in terms of cleaning efficacy and features, this added layer of customization sets the 6100 apart.

Alternative Options

Philips Sonicare offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs.

They have a kids’ electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, power flossers, premium electric toothbrushes and battery-powered toothbrushes.

Additionally, Sonicare offers various brush heads ranging from gentle to whitening and everything in between. Thousands of dentists trust Philips Sonicare globally and is a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip’s smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Philip Sonicare’s diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you will surely find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

5X Plaque Removal
Philips Sonicare 4100 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
$46.95

Removes up to 5x-7x more plaque vs. a manual toothbrush.

A pressure sensor and two intensity settings protect sensitive gums from overbrushing. 2-minute SmarTimer with QuadPacer ensures Dentist-recommended brushing time

A brush head replacement reminder ensures your brush head is always effective. Long battery life with battery light indicator: One charge lasts for 2 weeks.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/18/2024 05:45 am GMT
Whitens Teeth
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$143.14(-55%)

Gentle yet effective to whiten teeth in just 1 week vs. a manual toothbrush

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/18/2024 02:15 am GMT

My Experience & Expertise

After spending time with the Philips Sonicare 5100 and 6100, it’s clear that either model offers a superior cleaning experience compared to manual brushing.

They share several groundbreaking features, from Sonic technology and long battery life to multiple brushing modes and pressure sensors.

However, the 6100’s adjustable intensity settings provide that extra bit of customization, making it slightly more versatile in adapting to your oral health needs and comfort levels.

So, if you value having the option to fine-tune your brushing routine, the 6100 is worth the extra investment. On the other hand, if you’re looking for a straightforward, highly effective electric toothbrush without the bells and whistles, the 5100 will serve you exceptionally well.

Either way, both models represent an excellent investment in oral health, promising a cleaner, healthier, and brighter smile.

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you’ll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we’ll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

author avatar
Dr. Advocate Founder/Owner
Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.