Quip Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Quip Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Searching for the perfect toothbrush is an ongoing quest in the realm of oral care.

As a dentist dedicated to exploring innovative products, I am excited to bring you a comprehensive review of the Quip Electric Toothbrush, which has created a buzz in the dental care community.

This sleek and eye-catching toothbrush claims to revolutionize your daily oral care routine, and it’s time to put it to the test.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Quip Electric Toothbrush from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

ADA Accepted
Quip Electric Toothbrush (Metal Handle)
$29.00

The quip Electric Toothbrush gives you all the features teeth need (and removes the gimmicks they don't) to make better brushing simple and affordable.

It's one of the first electric toothbrushes accepted by the American Dental Association, and is proven to help remove plaque, and help prevent and reduce gingivitis.

The lightweight, compact design features sensitive sonic vibrations and a built-in toothbrush timer with 30-second pulses that guide an effective 2-minute routine.

Quip includes a convenient travel cover (that doubles as a stand and mirror mount) and a slim aluminum handle that's water-resistant and shower-safe.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/11/2024 04:55 am GMT

First Impressions

Quip Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Upon receiving the Quip Electric Toothbrush Starter Set, I was immediately drawn to the sleek and compact packaging.

It reflects the company’s emphasis on minimalist design and user-friendly experience.

While unboxing, I found the toothbrush, a travel cover mount doubling as a wall holder, and a user manual.

The toothbrush boasts a slim, modern design that is visually appealing and functional, promising ease of use and maneuverability during brushing.

It felt extremely durable and comfortable in my hand, although much heavier than your standard manual toothbrush.

One aspect of the toothbrush that caught my attention was the choice of materials used for the handle. The Quip Electric Toothbrush offers options in either a durable plastic or a premium metal material, allowing customers to choose a design that suits their personal preferences and budget.

Additionally, the travel cover mount is a thoughtful inclusion, demonstrating Quip’s commitment to offering a convenient and seamless user experience.

At this stage, the Quip Electric Toothbrush has certainly piqued my interest with its sleek design, quality materials, and well-considered packaging.

The cover protects the brush head during travel and serves as a wall holder, ensuring that the toothbrush is stored hygienically and easily accessible.

Overall Rating0

Pros

  • American Dental Association (ADA) accepted
  • Highly affordable
  • Various color options
  • Travel case provided
  • Brush head subscription
  • Long-lasting battery life
  • 2-minute auto timer
  • Tongue cleaner

Cons

  • Weak motor (15k vib/min)
  • Only one brushing mode
  • Slipping brush handle
  • Lacks smartphone connectivity

Innovative Features

Quip Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

The Quip Electric Toothbrush is a sophisticated oral hygiene tool with a sleek design and innovative features to provide an exceptional cleaning experience.

This thoughtfully designed toothbrush offers convenience, style, and performance, setting it apart from other electric toothbrushes on the market.

Key Features

  • Sensitive Sonic Vibrations: Quip's Electric Toothbrush operates at 15,000 vibrations per minute, offering a deep clean that's gentle on gums.
  • Long Battery Life: Powered by a single AAA battery, it lasts for 3 months, ideal for daily use and travel.
  • Slim, Minimalist Design: This water-resistant toothbrush is slim and easy to handle, with a sleek look that adds elegance to your oral care routine.
  • Travel-Friendly Cover Mount: Comes with a dual-purpose cover mount for brush head protection during travel and as a wall holder at home, keeping it hygienic and accessible.
  • Two-Minute Timer with Quadrant Pacing: Features a built-in timer for a recommended brushing duration and vibrates every 30 seconds to ensure thorough cleaning of all mouth areas.
  • Subscription for Brush Head Refills: Quip's subscription service delivers new brush heads every 3 months, maintaining the toothbrush's effectiveness.
  • Material Options: Available in durable plastic or premium metal, offering a choice to fit personal style and budget.
  • Soft Nylon Bristles: The bristles are soft, with rubber-like tips for gum massage, and include a tongue brush on the back for bacteria removal.

Dentist Review

Quip Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Regarding effectiveness, the Quip Electric Toothbrush offers a noticeable improvement over manual toothbrushes.

Its 15,000 vibrations per-minute motor helped remove plaque more effectively than a manual toothbrush while still being gentle on the teeth and gums.

It's a perfect transition toothbrush if you currently use a manual toothbrush.

During my testing, I found the slim design of the handle visually appealing; however, it occasionally slipped in my hand. Adding grips would have prevented slippage and provided a more secure hold while brushing.

While the Quip Electric Toothbrush may not match the power of other electric toothbrushes with oscillating bristles, it still delivers an efficient and comfortable cleaning experience.

The brush head vibrates rather than oscillating, which may feel different for those accustomed to other electric toothbrushes.

Nevertheless, the cleaning results were satisfactory.

One aspect that stands out with the Quip Electric Toothbrush is its simplicity and ease of use, making it an excellent choice for those transitioning from manual to electric toothbrushes.

The built-in two-minute timer with quadrant pacing ensures an even and thorough cleaning across all areas of the mouth.

For comparison, Aquasonic Black Series Electric Toothbrush and Vibe Series Electric Toothbrush feature 40,000 vibrations/min, Burst Sonic Toothbrush features 33,000 vibrations/min, and 7am2m Sonic Electric Toothbrush features 31,000 vibrations/min.

The Quip Electric Toothbrush is an effective and user-friendly option for those seeking an upgrade from manual toothbrushes. While it may not match the power of some other electric toothbrushes on the market, it provides a reliable and efficient cleaning experience that is gentle on teeth and gums.

Alternative Options

Quip offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs.

They have a kids' electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, with smaller brush heads and a more comfortable grip for little hands. For those seeking an eco-friendly option, Quip's rechargeable electric toothbrush provides long-lasting battery life, reducing the need for disposable batteries.

Additionally, Quip offers various bundles, allowing you to purchase toothbrushes with other oral care products such as toothpaste and floss, making it a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip's smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Quip's diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you're sure to find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

Bluetooth Toothbrush
Quip Smart Bluetooth Electric Toothbrush (Metal Handle)
$59.99 $44.99 ($44.99 / Count)

Connect with Bluetooth to the Smart Brushes to the quip app (iOS & Android), then automatically track your brushing routine offline: duration, coverage, strokes and intensity.

The quip Smart Electric Toothbrush Starter Kit earns you amazing rewards (like free brush heads, products, gift cards, and more) as you track and coach better oral health habits with the free quip app.

It has the same timed sonic vibrations as our original ADA-Accepted brush. quip's simple and sustainable brush also includes a premium handle you keep for life, a replaceable soft-bristle brush head (tongue scraper on the back), and a multi-use travel cover that doubles as a stand and mirror mount.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/09/2024 05:10 am GMT
ADA Accepted
Quip Kids Electric Toothbrush (Rubber Handle)
$24.99 $19.97

Quip's Kids Rubber Electric Toothbrush is a grown-up brush designed to help young brushers build better habits. It's American Dental Association accepted, proven to help remove plaque, and helps prevent and reduce gingivitis.

It features sensitive sonic vibrations to be gentler on gums, and a 2-minute toothbrush timer with 30-second pulses to make better brushing simple and fun.

Quip includes a convenient travel cover (that doubles as a stand and mirror mount), and a long-lasting handle that's water-resistant and shower-safe.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/09/2024 05:15 am GMT
Flexible w/ Tongue Scraper
Quip Electric Toothbrush Replacement Heads
$37.00 ($12.33 / Count)

Soft-Bristle Brush Head Refill (pack of 3) Compatible with all Quip Electric Toothbrushes Flexible with tongue scraper on back.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/09/2024 05:05 am GMT

My Experience & Expertise

The Quip Electric Toothbrush is a solid choice for those seeking a user-friendly and straightforward electric toothbrush.

Its slim design, long-lasting battery life, and travel-friendly features make it an attractive option for people on the go or those transitioning from manual toothbrushes.

While it may not have the power of other electric toothbrushes with oscillating bristles, the Quip Electric Toothbrush still provides an efficient and comfortable cleaning experience. Its simplicity and ease of use make it an excellent choice for users of all ages and dental needs.

However, there are a few areas where the Quip Electric Toothbrush could improve, such as adding grips on the handle and providing additional brushing modes for a more customized cleaning experience.

Nevertheless, the Quip Electric Toothbrush is a reliable and effective option for maintaining good oral hygiene.

If you're looking for a sleek, simple, and travel-friendly electric toothbrush that is a step up from manual brushing, the Quip Electric Toothbrush may be the right choice for you. Its design and performance offer a satisfactory cleaning experience that will help promote better oral health.

Overall Rating0
ADA Accepted
Quip Electric Toothbrush (Metal Handle)
$29.00

The quip Electric Toothbrush gives you all the features teeth need (and removes the gimmicks they don't) to make better brushing simple and affordable.

It's one of the first electric toothbrushes accepted by the American Dental Association, and is proven to help remove plaque, and help prevent and reduce gingivitis.

The lightweight, compact design features sensitive sonic vibrations and a built-in toothbrush timer with 30-second pulses that guide an effective 2-minute routine.

Quip includes a convenient travel cover (that doubles as a stand and mirror mount) and a slim aluminum handle that's water-resistant and shower-safe.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/11/2024 04:55 am GMT

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you'll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we'll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Teeth Staining Ultimate Guide | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Cosmetic Dentistry | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Ultimate Guide

Teeth Staining | The Ultimate Guide (Content Hub)

Imagine flashing a dazzling, confident smile, only to reveal teeth that have lost their shine and sparkle. As a dentist, I’ve witnessed firsthand the emotional impact that teeth staining can have on my patients, often leaving…

Happy Kid at the Dentist | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Common Questions | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Kids Dentistry

What Is A Pediatric Dentist? (Kids Dentist)

Most parents can attest to the challenges of getting their kids in the car, let alone brushing their teeth before bed. The struggle is real! Can you imagine the difficulties a dentist would have fixing a cavity? As a dentist, restoring a tooth in an uncooperative child…

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.