Sonicare 6100 vs. 6500 Electric Toothbrush (Comparison Review)

Dentist Tested & Reviewed
, ,
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 6100 vs. 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

I’m often asked about the best tools for maintaining oral hygiene at home.

Sonicare, a leading name in the realm of electric toothbrushes, offers several models that promote good oral health.

Today, we will compare two popular models, the Sonicare 6100 and Sonicare 6500, to help you decide the best fit for your oral care needs.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene. So, after using them for multiple days, let’s take a closer look from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

Whitens Teeth
Charging Case
4.7
4.8
$129.96$109.00
$179.96
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head
  • Travel Case
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head (2)
  • Charging Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
  • Expensive
Whitens Teeth
4.7
$129.96$109.00
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head
  • Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
Charging Case
4.8
$179.96
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 62k Vibrations/min
  • DiamondClean W Brush Head (2)
  • Charging Travel Case
  • Expensive
05/29/2024 06:50 pm GMT

Dentist Review | Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush

Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100

The Philips Sonicare 6100 electric toothbrush is an excellent choice for individuals seeking advanced brushing capabilities and the proven effectiveness of Sonicare technology.

The toothbrush comes with three distinct brushing modes and three intensity levels.

The toothbrush also features a sleek, ergonomic handle for ease of use and comfort during brushing.

Capitalizing on Sonicare’s proprietary technology, the Sonicare 6100 provides a deep clean that removes up to 7 times more plaque than a manual toothbrush.

This model also includes a two-minute timer and a 30-second pacer, ensuring an even and thorough cleaning by reminding users to switch areas of the mouth every half minute.

In addition, the Sonicare 6100 has a pressure sensor technology that alerts you if you’re applying too much pressure while brushing, helping protect your gums from potential damage.

The Sonicare 6100 comes with the brand’s W-shaped DiamondClean brush head. This component features specially designed bristles and a compact brush head shape for effective plaque removal and whitening.

Like all Sonicare brush heads, replacing this every three months is recommended to maintain optimal performance.

In conclusion, the Philips Sonicare 6100 electric toothbrush is a reliable, high-performance oral care tool, offering a deep clean and a range of brushing modes to cater to varying dental needs.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 6100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

Whitens Teeth
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$129.96 $109.00

Gentle yet effective to whiten teeth in just 1 week vs. a manual toothbrush

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/29/2024 06:50 pm GMT

Dentist | Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush

Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6500

The Philips Sonicare 6500 electric toothbrush takes oral health technology further, offering an additional brushing mode and an enhanced brush head compared to its 6100 counterparts.

With four distinct brushing modes and the same ergonomically sleek handle, this model prioritizes comfort and versatility.

Like the 6100 model, the Sonicare 6500 utilizes the brand’s advanced sonic technology, delivering 68k vibrations/minute, eliminating up to 7 times more plaque than a manual toothbrush.

The two-minute timer and 30-second quad pacer are also present, promoting thorough cleaning by prompting users to switch their focus to different areas of the mouth every half minute.

A standout feature in the 6500 model is the advanced pressure sensor technology. This feature alerts users when they’re brushing too hard and adjusts the intensity automatically, further safeguarding oral health.

However, the Sonicare 6500’s real star is its (2) W-shaped Diamond Clean brush heads. This brush head is designed to reach deep between teeth and along the gum line, effectively removing plaque and surface stains for a whiter, brighter smile.

Another bonus is the inclusion of a charging travel case, making the Sonicare 6500 an ideal companion for those who frequently travel. Not only can you take your electric toothbrush on the go, but you can also ensure it’s charged and ready to use.

The Philips Sonicare 6500 electric toothbrush is a comprehensive oral health tool, offering a deeper clean, additional brushing mode and a superior brush head design. The 6500 model is a worthy investment for those seeking advanced dental care.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 6500 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

Charging Case
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6500 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$179.96

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder.

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure dental professional-recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/26/2024 07:45 pm GMT

Similar Innovative Features

The Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100 Electric Toothbrush and Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6500 Electric Toothbrush have innovative features that make them a top choice for individuals looking for an affordable and effective electric toothbrush.

Key Features

  • Advanced Sonic Technology: Philips Sonicare uses sonic technology with 68,000 vibrations per minute, effectively pulsing water between teeth and removing plaque for a thorough daily clean.
  • Extended Battery Life: The Sonicare 6100 and 6500 offer up to 14 days of use per charge, ideal for travel without frequent recharging.
  • High-Quality Bristles: Dense bristles remove 3x more plaque than manual toothbrushes, with a contoured design for effective cleaning of hard-to-reach areas.
  • Smartimer and Quadpacer: Feature a 2-minute timer for recommended brushing duration and a 30-second interval reminder for even coverage.
  • Easy-Start Technology: Gradually increases brushing intensity over 14 sessions, easing users into the electric toothbrush experience.
  • 3 Brushing Modes and Intensities: Both models have “clean,” “white,” and “gum care” modes, plus 3 intensity levels, catering to various dental needs.
  • Microchip-Enabled Technology: Syncs the smart brush head with the handle for effective use and timely replacement reminders.
  • Premium Travel Case: Offers hygienic storage and a compact charging base, with the Sonicare 6500 featuring a charging travel case for extended battery life on trips.
  • BrushSync Technology: Monitors brush head usage and brushing pressure, alerting you when it’s time for a replacement for optimal cleaning efficiency.
 Recommended Reading: Best Sonicare Replacement Brush Heads 2023 (Ultimate Guide)

Similar Effectiveness

Philips Sonicare 5300 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare W Diamond Clean Brush Head

The Philips Sonicare 6100 and Sonicare 6500 electric toothbrush models both stood out in terms of their effectiveness at removing plaque, even from hard-to-reach areas, while still being gentle on my sensitive gums and teeth.

I tested both models, using them for several days at various intensity levels.

The Sonicare 6100 and 6500 electric toothbrush models have powerful motors and various intensity levels, allowing me to choose a comfortable and effective cleaning setting.

The high-quality motors ensured that the brush heads vibrated at a rate that agitated the toothpaste and saliva into a frothy cleaning solution that penetrated between my teeth and along the gum line, eliminating plaque buildup.

Moreover, both models have a pressure sensor that alerts you when brushing too hard, which I found particularly useful. This function helped protect my sensitive gums from damage caused by overzealous brushing.

In conclusion, the Philips Sonicare 6100 and Sonicare 6500 electric toothbrush models effectively removed plaque without being too rough on my sensitive gums or teeth.

I was impressed by their versatility, the range of intensity levels, and the inclusion of different types of brush heads, making them an excellent investment for those seeking a more customized cleaning experience.

What’s the Difference Between 5100 & 5300?

The Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100 and 6500 are high-quality electric toothbrushes, but there are some differences to consider when choosing between them.

The primary distinction lies in the additional brush head, charging travel case and pricing. The Sonicare 6100 features one W-shaped DiamondClean brush head. On the other hand, the Sonicare 6500 comes with (2) W-shaped DiamondClean brush heads for 6 months’ worth of use.

As a result of the additional brush head and charging travel case, the Sonicare 6100 typically carries a higher price tag than the 6500 model.

When selecting between the two, consider your specific requirements and preferences. If you desire a charging travel case for optimal battery life, the 6500 may be the better choice, despite the slightly higher cost.

However, if you are looking for a more budget-friendly option that still delivers excellent oral care, the Sonicare 6100 remains a solid choice.

Alternative Options

Philips Sonicare offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs.

They have a kids’ electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, power flossers, premium electric toothbrushes and battery-powered toothbrushes.

Additionally, Sonicare offers various brush heads ranging from gentle to whitening and everything in between. Thousands of dentists trust Philips Sonicare globally and is a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip’s smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Philip Sonicare’s diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you will surely find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

Full Reviews

My Experience & Expertise

Ultimately, the decision between the Sonicare 6100 and 6500 boils down to personal preference and budget.

While the Sonicare 6500 may be a bit more expensive due to its additional brush head and charging travel case, both toothbrushes are excellent choices for maintaining optimal oral hygiene and supporting the health of your teeth and gums.

They both leverage Sonicare’s advanced technology to offer a level of clean that is hard to match, ensuring you’re getting great value regardless of which model you choose.

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you’ll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we’ll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.