AquaSonic Black Series Toothbrush (Full Review)

Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
AquaSonic Electric Toothbrush Review | Top 5 Best Electric Toothbrush Under

AquaSonic was founded in 2017 to provide superior at-home oral care through technology, innovation, and affordability.

Their product line includes their most popular black series electric toothbrush, vibe series electric toothbrush, aqua flosser, and kids electric toothbrush.

Also, it features state-of-the-art technology pumping out 40,000 vibrations/minute, which is not only ultra-powerful, it’s also industry-leading.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 300+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Aquasonic Black Series Electric Toothbrush from a dentist’s perspective.

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

ADA Accepted
Aquasonic Black Series Ultra Whitening Toothbrush
$58.95 $39.95

An incredibly powerful 40,000 VPM motor delivers a complete and thoroughly clean - but the black series goes beyond just cleaning your teeth.

Use Whiten mode to dissolve surface stains towards the end of your brushing sessions. Massage mode delivers vibrating micro-bursts into gum tissue to improve circulation and tissue function. Whiter teeth and healthier gums mean a more beautiful smile.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/09/2024 04:26 am GMT


Dentist Thoughts

AquaSonic Electric Toothbrush Review full kit

AquaSonic offers a lot of value at a low price point.

Although it lacks a subscription brush head service, it includes eight DuPont-engineered brush heads and a travel-ready case.

The toothbrush is sleek and easy to grip due to its thick black satin handle. Also, it’s lightweight, ergonomic, and waterproof.

The four brushing modes are easy to toggle through, and you can’t miss the larger on/off button.

The brush head bristles have a significant density (total bristle amount) and anatomically curved bristles from tip to tip.

The overall brush head design is practical; however, the bristles lack feathering and are rigid.

Once you turn it off, you realize how powerful the motor is as it visibly whips the bristles.

Also, the bristle motions are easily visualized as you toggle between modes. Other toothbrushes offer multiple brushing modes; however, little effect is noted with the bristle movement.

Overall Rating0

Pros

  • 40,000 vibrations/minute
  • American Dental Association (ADA) accepted
  • DuPont-engineered brush heads
  • Travel case provided
  • Four brushing modes
  • Eight replacement brush heads
  • Full charge lasts 30 days
  • 2-minute auto timer

Cons

  • No cheek and tongue cleaner
  • Stiff and abrasive bristles
  • Lacks smartphone connectivity
  • No brush head subscription

Innovative Features

AquaSonic Electric Toothbrush Front View

AquaSonic’s innovative features set it apart, with many electric toothbrushes available.

Along with its industry-leading 40k vibrations/minute electric toothbrush, eight DuPont replacement brush heads and a travel-ready case is included.

As a result, AquaSonic provides the most bang for your buck compared to other electric toothbrushes.

Key Features

  • DuPont Brush Heads: Precision-engineered for a perfect fit, with eight heads included, lasting over 2.5 years with three-monthly replacements.
  • Long-Lasting Battery: Features a lithium-ion battery lasting 30 days per charge, travel-friendly with a travel case included.
  • High Vibrations: Delivers 40,000 vibrations per minute, leading in the industry. Clinically proven to reduce plaque 10x more than manual and 3x more than older electric toothbrushes.
  • Four Brushing Modes: Offers options for every need - Clean for regular brushing, Soft for gentleness, Whiten for removing stains and polishing, and Massage for gum health.

Dentist Review

AquaSonic Electric Toothbrush Front Bristles

If you’re looking for a powerful toothbrush, look no further.

AquaSonic is highly effective at removing plaque around the gum line.

The four distinct modes are helpful, with some modes being more gentle than others. We preferred the soft mode as it offers more than enough power.

On the other hand, the clean mode could also be intense; it was too much for us to handle. The bristle curvature offers an effective clean around the gum line, and the tip easily slides between teeth.

We were pleased with the cleaning results but desired a tongue and cheek cleaner to finish the remaining bacteria.

My Experience & Expertise

Overall, this toothbrush checks just about all the boxes if you're in the market for a new toothbrush.

It features industry-leading power, a travel case, eight brush heads, a 30-day charge, and four distinct brushing modes. Bluetooth connectivity and a tongue cleaner would have been a nice perk; however, the stiff and rigid bristles pulled down the overall score.

We can’t understate one final note: how much product you receive for the price.

At a fraction of the cost, AquaSonic is holding its own against more prominent oral health care brands, including Oral-B and Philips.

Overall Rating0
ADA Accepted
Aquasonic Black Series Ultra Whitening Toothbrush
$58.95 $39.95

An incredibly powerful 40,000 VPM motor delivers a complete and thoroughly clean - but the black series goes beyond just cleaning your teeth.

Use Whiten mode to dissolve surface stains towards the end of your brushing sessions. Massage mode delivers vibrating micro-bursts into gum tissue to improve circulation and tissue function. Whiter teeth and healthier gums mean a more beautiful smile.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/09/2024 04:26 am GMT

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you'll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we'll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Gingivitis vs. Healthy Gums | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Common Questions | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

Gingivitis vs Healthy Gums (What’s the Difference?)

You may have gingivitis and not even know it! Harmful bacteria that cause gingivitis can progress into severe gum disease or creep into your bloodstream (yuck!). Most patients with gingivitis or gum disease are unaware because…

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.