Colgate Hum Electric Toothbrush (Full Review)

Dentist Tested and Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Colgate Hum Electric Toothbrush Review

Colgate Hum is a “smart electric toothbrush that guides you, times you, and reminds you – helping you get into the rhythm of better brushing for cleaner smiles.”

Colgate has been in the oral health care industry for over 145 years and offers a range of oral care products.

The company values sustainability as it recently created a first-of-its-kind recyclable toothpaste tube.

Also, they strive to be an accessible company that offers many educational resources to the public and dental professionals.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Colgate Hum Toothbrush from a dentist’s perspective.

Colgate Hum Overview

Colgate Hum offers rechargeable or battery-powered versions, and both arrive with a slim, compact case. Subscription replaceable brush heads are also available for automatic delivery every three months.

Colgate Hum’s most notable feature is smartphone connectivity. The toothbrush has intelligent sensors to track and notify you about your brushing habits.

“A brush that knows you and an app that shows you” tracks your brushing style’s frequency, duration, and coverage.

If you’re in the market for a new toothbrush or any other Colgate products, use code XE994G for 30% off at checkout. From a dentist’s perspective, let’s look at the Colgate hum.

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

Smartphone App
Colgate hum Electric Toothbrush
$39.99

The hum by Colgate Smart Battery Operated Toothbrush with blue tooth connectivity guides you to brush better!

It does this by tracking the frequency, duration, and coverage of your individual brushing style to help you target spots that need extra love.

With a brush that knows you and an app that shows you, hum sonic toothbrush makes seriously good oral care, something to smile about with fun activities and challenges that help you improve you’re brushing while you earn points toward rewards.

Buy Now (Amazon) Buy Now (Colgate)
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/27/2024 07:00 pm GMT

Dentist Thoughts

Colgate Hum Electric Toothbrush Review

We tested and reviewed the battery-powered hum, and you can’t miss the unique brush head bristle design.

Colgate was very purposeful on the overall bristle layout, including the multi-level length and various bristle thicknesses.

The center features stiffer, tightly packed bristles surrounded by a polishing cup to remove tough stains.

The toothbrush is lightweight and comfortable to hold and handle. We would have appreciated various textures as we found it slip around when brushing.

Lastly, the tongue and cheek cleaner is practical and offers a fine texture to remove bacteria.

For $39, this toothbrush provides smart technology, innovative bristles, and an ergonomic handle.

Overall Rating0

Pros

  • Multi-level bristles
  • Travel case provided
  • Subscription replacement heads
  • Smartphone connectivity
  • 2-minute timer
  • Various brushing modes
  • Ergonomic handle
  • Tongue and cheek cleaner
  • 30k sonic vibrations/min (rechargeable)
  • 20k sonic vibrations/min (battery)

Cons

  • Stiff and abrasive bristles
  • Sonic vibrations are inadequate
  • Smaller brush head
  • Minimal bristle density

Innovative Features

Colgate Hum Electric Toothbrush Front View

Colgate Hum offers many features for great value. Colgate understands Oral-B and Philips Sonicare are at the top of most electric toothbrush consumers.

So they want to cultivate their followers by offering hum in many colors, including seafoam green, light blue, and purple. Also, the Hum kids product line is available so everyone can hum together.

Key Features

  • Smartphone Sync for Better Brushing: Connect to the Colgate app to see where you're missing spots. Most people miss 40% of their teeth, but this app shows missed areas and brushing duration.
  • Choose Your Style: Pick between rechargeable or battery-powered toothbrushes. Both have expertly designed brush heads with floss-tip bristles.
  • Powerful Cleaning Action: The rechargeable brush hits 30,000 sonic vibrations per minute, while the battery version does 20,000. That's why they call it "hum."
  • Brushing Modes for Your Needs: The rechargeable brush offers deep clean, normal, and sensitive modes. The battery one has standard and sensitive. Just double-click to switch modes.
  • Tongue and Cheek Cleaner: This feature uses rubber bristles to clean your tongue and a cheek cleaner that spans the brush head's length for effective bacteria removal.
  • Easy Brush Head Replacement: With a subscription, new brush heads arrive every three months for just $4.99. No more forgetting to replace them!
  • Bristles That Reach Everywhere: The bristles are designed to clean every part of your teeth, even behind the last tooth in each quadrant.

Dentist Review

Colgate Hum Electric Toothbrush Front Bristles

After testing Colgate Hum for multiple weeks we were disappointed in the cleaning quality for various reasons.

Our main complaint was the lack of sonic vibrations between both modes.

If you purchase this toothbrush, spend the extra money for the rechargeable option.

It features 30,000 sonic vibrations/min, compared to the 20,000 vibrations/min battery-powered option we tested.

Also, we found ourselves desiring to brush actively because of how little movement occurred. Lastly, the toothbrush head is well-designed; however, we expected it to be more significant.

This toothbrush is ideal for individuals with small mouths.

My Experience & Expertise

The Colgate Hum is a quality electric toothbrush with smartphone connectivity, multiple brushing modes, and subscription replacement heads.

Although it offers many great features, we were disappointed with the plaque removal and cleaning effectiveness.

If you purchase this toothbrush, buy the rechargeable option, as it offers the maximum sonic vibrations/minute. If you're in the market for a new toothbrush or any other Colgate products, use code XE994G for 30% off at checkout.

Overall Rating0
Smartphone App
Colgate hum Electric Toothbrush
$39.99

The hum by Colgate Smart Battery Operated Toothbrush with blue tooth connectivity guides you to brush better!

It does this by tracking the frequency, duration, and coverage of your individual brushing style to help you target spots that need extra love.

With a brush that knows you and an app that shows you, hum sonic toothbrush makes seriously good oral care, something to smile about with fun activities and challenges that help you improve you’re brushing while you earn points toward rewards.

Buy Now (Amazon) Buy Now (Colgate)
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
05/27/2024 07:00 pm GMT

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you'll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we'll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Teeth Staining Ultimate Guide | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Cosmetic Dentistry | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Ultimate Guide

Teeth Staining | The Ultimate Guide (Content Hub)

Imagine flashing a dazzling, confident smile, only to reveal teeth that have lost their shine and sparkle. As a dentist, I’ve witnessed firsthand the emotional impact that teeth staining can have on my patients, often leaving…

5 Best Mouthwash for Dental Implants | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Buying Guide | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

5 Best Mouthwash for Dental Implants 2024 (Dentist Recommended)

Maintaining optimal oral health is more crucial than ever for those who have decided to invest in dental implants. Dental implants, representing a significant advancement in dental technology, restore functionality and aesthetics and require particular care to ensure longevity.

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.