Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dentist Tested & Reviewed
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

Oral health is often a window to your overall well-being, and investing in a quality electric toothbrush can make all the difference in your daily hygiene routine.

Enter the Philips Sonicare Prestige 9900 Electric Toothbrush.

This revolutionary device promises to keep your teeth sparkling clean and elevate your brushing experience to a whole new level.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 300+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

Features SenseIQ
Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige Electric Toothbrush with SenseIQ
$379.96 $329.96

A brush that learns and adapts to how you brush, for your most complete clean yet.

Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige with SenseIQ technology is their most advanced electric toothbrush. Sensing your every move and adapting to your needs in real-time for exceptional care. As you brush, pressure, motion, coverage and more are monitored up to 100 times per second.

The brush then adapts automatically in real-time for advanced teeth and gum care. BrushSync™ mode-pairing & replacement reminders automatically sync your brush head to the optimal brushing mode and alert you when it's time to replace your brush head for the best results.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/10/2024 05:40 am GMT

First Impressions

It was immediately evident that the Philips Sonicare Prestige 9900 Electric Toothbrush was in a league of its own.

I’ve tested many electric toothbrushes but this one was really enjoyable to use.

From the opulent packaging to its refined design, the toothbrush radiates an air of luxury and advanced technology. Here are the standout features that immediately grabbed my attention.

Premium Leather Charging Case

First and foremost, the leather charging case exudes class. Not only does it look great on your bathroom counter, but it also makes for a stylish and functional travel companion. It’s a significant upgrade from the standard plastic cases that accompany most electric toothbrushes.

All-in-One Brush Head with SenseIQ Technology

The All-in-One brush head featuring SenseIQ is a game-changer. Unlike traditional brush heads, it adapts to the contours of your mouth for a customized cleaning experience. This adaptive technology ensures that no tooth or gum area is left untouched, giving you a thoroughly professional cleaning feel.

AI-Powered App Guidance

The Sonicare 9900 seamlessly integrates with an AI-powered app that provides real-time feedback on your brushing technique.

It recommends the right amount of pressure, motion, and duration, ensuring that you’re always getting the most effective clean possible. This app experience makes you feel like you have a personal dental hygienist right in your bathroom.

Slick Charging Base

The charging base is not just functional but also aesthetically pleasing. It effortlessly complements the toothbrush’s overall design, ensuring that even the charging experience is a luxurious affair.

Champaign Color & Premium Feel

The champaign color adds a touch of elegance to the device, making it as visually pleasing as it is effective. Combined with its premium materials and build quality, the Sonicare 9900 feels like a piece of high-tech art rather than a mere toothbrush.

Cutting-Edge and High-Tech

If you’re a fan of tech-savvy gadgets, the Sonicare 9900 won’t disappoint. With its adaptive cleaning technology, AI-powered app, and sophisticated design, it redefines what an electric toothbrush can do.

Cleaning Modes

  • Clean mode – optimal for daily cleaning
  • White+ mode – ideal for eradicating surface stains
  • Gum Health mode – perfect for tenderly massaging gums
  • Deep Clean+ mode – great for deeper clean
  • Tongue Care mode – best for cleaning tongue

My first impressions of the Philips Sonicare Prestige 9900 Electric Toothbrush were overwhelmingly positive. The device aims to offer a high-tech, luxurious experience that goes far beyond basic dental hygiene.

It sets a new standard for what an electric toothbrush can—and should—be.

Overall Rating0

Pros

  • Advanced sonic technology
  • 62k vibrations/min
  • Charging travel case
  • SenseIQ Technology
  • 2-minute auto timer
  • 30-second quad pacer
  • 5 Brushing modes
  • 3 Pressure sensors
  • SmartSync technology
  • Microchip-enabled
  • #1 dental professional brand
  • Sonicare app-enabled
  • All-in-One brush head
  • Tongue cleaning

Cons

  • Expensive

Innovative Features

Philips Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

The Philips Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush goes beyond the traditional expectations of an electric toothbrush by infusing it with groundbreaking features that cater to a modern, tech-savvy user.

Combining Artificial Intelligence, adaptive sensors, and a user-friendly app, the Sonicare 9900 transforms a mundane daily task into a personalized, highly effective routine.

Let's dig into these game-changing innovations that make this toothbrush an exceptional choice for anyone serious about oral health.

Key Features

  • Advanced Sonic Technology: The Sonicare 9900 uses Philips' sonic technology for a deep clean. It pulses water between teeth and uses high-frequency brush strokes to remove plaque effectively.
  • SenseIQ Technology: This tech adapts to your brushing style, adjusting intensity to avoid too much pressure. It tracks your habits, enhancing your overall brushing experience.
  • Sonicare App Guidance: Connect to the Sonicare app for feedback on your brushing. It helps you maintain healthy habits and shows your progress over time.
  • Premium All-in-One Brush Head: Designed for multiple needs: cleaning, whitening, and gum health. It removes more plaque than manual brushes, offering a comprehensive clean.
  • 3 Pressure Sensors + 5 Cleaning Modes: The 9900 offers personalized care with three sensors and five modes, including Clean, White+, and Gum Care. It adjusts to your brushing style in real time.
  • Long Battery Life: Enjoy up to 14 days of use on a single charge, ideal for travelers and busy lifestyles.
  • Pressure Sensor: Alerts you when brushing too hard, protecting your gums. Most users find this feature improves their brushing technique.
  • Smartimer and Quadpacer: These ensure you brush for the recommended two minutes and evenly clean all mouth areas.
  • BrushSync Technology: Tracks brush head usage and alerts you when it's time to replace it, ensuring optimal cleaning.
  • Easy-Start Technology: Gradually increases brushing intensity over 14 sessions, making it comfortable for new electric toothbrush users.
  • Microchip-Enabled Technology: Synchronizes the smart brush head with the handle for efficient cleaning and replacement reminders.
  • Premium Charging Travel Case: Comes with a stylish, leather-wrapped case for hygienic storage and charging on the go.

Dentist Review

Philips Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush All-In-One Brush Head Review | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare 9900 All In One Brush Head

Regarding effectiveness, the Philips Sonicare Prestige 9900 sets a new standard, largely thanks to its All-in-One brush head.

The universal nature of this brush head means you don't need multiple attachments for different oral care needs—it's a one-size-fits-all solution for cleaning, whitening, and gum care.

The pressure sensor is another standout feature, adjusting in real-time to prevent excessive force that could damage your gums.

This fine-tuning is invaluable for achieving the best clean possible without compromising the health of your teeth and gums.

Another major plus is the Sonicare app. The toothbrush keeps track of your brushing habits even when the app isn't open, providing a comprehensive overview of your oral care routine over time.

It's the closest thing to having a dental hygienist monitor your daily brushing habits.

Speaking from personal experience, this is hands-down the best toothbrush I've ever used. Its sonic technology is a benchmark in both effective and gentle cleaning. With up to 62,000 bristle movements and dynamic fluid action, it cleans even the most hard-to-reach areas.

After each session, my mouth feels extraordinarily fresh and clean, as if I've just had a professional dental cleaning.

In essence, the Sonicare Prestige 9900 doesn't just promise effectiveness—it delivers it, making it an unmatched choice for anyone committed to maintaining top-tier oral health.

Alternative Options

Philips Sonicare offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs.

They have a kids' electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, power flossers, premium electric toothbrushes and battery-powered toothbrushes.

Additionally, Sonicare offers various brush heads ranging from gentle to whitening and everything in between. Thousands of dentists trust Philips Sonicare globally and is a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip's smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Philip Sonicare's diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you will surely find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

Advanced Sonic Technology
Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$41.00

Innovative Sonicare technology gently pulses fluid between the teeth and along the gum line for a gentle and effective clean every time​.

EasyStart program helps you gradually get used to the sonic brushing power​.

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/11/2024 05:05 am GMT
Microchip-Enabled
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$99.99 $79.96

Improve your gum health up to 100% better than a manual toothbrush with the Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5100 rechargeable electric toothbrush.

Features a pressure sensor that protects teeth and gums from excess brushing pressure. BrushSync technology tracks how long you have been using your G2 Optimal Gum Care brush head and how hard you have been brushing.

The electric toothbrush will beep to inform you when to replace your brush head.

Customize your own brushing experience with your choice of 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/11/2024 08:15 am GMT

My Experience & Expertise

As a dentist, I find the Philips Sonicare 9900 Electric Toothbrush to be nothing short of incredible.

Its blend of cutting-edge technology, personalized cleaning features, and exceptional effectiveness makes it a standout choice for anyone serious about oral health.

That being said, its high-end functionalities come with a premium price tag. While it's a significant investment, its unparalleled performance makes it worthwhile for those who are committed to optimal dental care.

Overall Rating0
Features SenseIQ
Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige Electric Toothbrush with SenseIQ
$379.96 $329.96

A brush that learns and adapts to how you brush, for your most complete clean yet.

Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige with SenseIQ technology is their most advanced electric toothbrush. Sensing your every move and adapting to your needs in real-time for exceptional care. As you brush, pressure, motion, coverage and more are monitored up to 100 times per second.

The brush then adapts automatically in real-time for advanced teeth and gum care. BrushSync™ mode-pairing & replacement reminders automatically sync your brush head to the optimal brushing mode and alert you when it's time to replace your brush head for the best results.

Buy Now
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
06/10/2024 05:40 am GMT

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you'll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we'll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

5 Best Electric Toothbrush for Sensitive Teeth (Dentist-Recommended) | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Buying Guide | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

5 Best Electric Toothbrush for Sensitive Teeth 2024 (Dentist-Recommended)

Looking for the best electric toothbrush for sensitive teeth? As a dentist, I understand the challenge. Let’s explore top picks that combine gentle cleaning with effective oral care. As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene, so let’s take a closer look at the Best Electric Toothbrush for Sensitive Teeth from a dentist’s perspective.

5 Best Mouthwash for Inflamed Gums | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Buying Guide | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

5 Best Mouthwash for Inflamed Gums 2024 (Dentist Recommended)

Gum inflammation can be a real nuisance. It causes discomfort and sensitivity and can lead to more serious oral health issues if left untreated. If you’ve ever experienced that sore, swollen feeling in your gums, you know the importance of relief and prevention.

5 Best Mouthwash for Bleeding Gums | My Dental Advocate
Adult Dentistry | Buying Guide | Dr. Advocate’s Insight | Oral Health

5 Best Mouthwash for Bleeding Gums 2024 (Dentist Recommended)

Bleeding gums can be alarming and uncomfortable, often signaling underlying dental concerns. But there’s hope in combatting and preventing this issue – and it begins right in your bathroom cabinet. Enter the world of specialized mouthwashes designed specifically for bleeding gums.

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.