Philips Sonicare 2100 vs. 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

, ,
Dr. Matthew Hannan | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 1100 vs. 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate

If you’re searching for a dentist-recommended electric toothbrush that offers a robust cleaning experience, you’ve probably come across Philips Sonicare.

Specifically, the Sonicare 2100 and 4100 models are two fan favorites. But how do they stack up against each other?

In this review, we’ll delve into the nitty-gritty of each model’s performance, battery life, and unique features so you can decide which toothbrush fits your pearly whites.

As an experienced dentist with years of experience, I’ve tested and evaluated 250+ dental products. I strive to find the best products for achieving excellent oral hygiene. So, after using them for multiple days, let’s take a closer look from a dentist’s perspective.

Need Dental Advice? Ask Dr. Hannan!

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare Buying Guide | The Ultimate Guide

Top 10 Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10 $$$$
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10 $$$
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10 $$$$
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10 $$$
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10 $
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10 $$$
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10 $$
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10 $
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10 $$
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10 $$

2 Brushing Modes
5X Plaque Removal
4.6
4.5
$34.96
$46.95
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 14-Day Battery Life
  • 2 Brushing Modes
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 14-Day Battery Life
  • 2 Brushing Modes
  • C2 Plaque-Control Brush Head
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer
Cons:
  • Lacks Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
Cons:
  • Lacks Travel Case
2 Brushing Modes
4.6
$34.96
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 14-Day Battery Life
  • 2 Brushing Modes
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer
Cons:
  • Lacks Travel Case
  • Lacks Multiple Brush Heads
5X Plaque Removal
4.5
$46.95
Pros:
  • Advanced Sonic Technology
  • 14-Day Battery Life
  • 2 Brushing Modes
  • C2 Plaque-Control Brush Head
  • Smartimer & Quadpacer
Cons:
  • Lacks Travel Case
02/18/2024 12:10 pm GMT

Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush (Dentist Review)

Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 2100

The Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush is a top-notch option for dependable and effective toothbrushes.

You’ll notice its sleek and contemporary appearance as soon as you unpack it.

The toothbrush boasts a slender and ergonomic handle that fits snugly in your hand. However, I would have appreciated gripping features to prevent slipping.

One of the most impressive aspects of this toothbrush is its advanced Sonicare technology, along with two variable brushing modes. The bristle motion is remarkably rapid, making it an excellent choice for those upgrading from a manual toothbrush.

The Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush is also notable for its simplicity. It doesn’t come with too many extra features, but it doesn’t need to.

The toothbrush is straightforward and easy to use, with just one button to turn it on and off (also functions to rotate brushing modes).

While the W-shaped brush head and feathered bristles are fantastic additions, I was particularly pleased with the variable-length bristles.

However, I was disappointed with the brush handle’s slickness, which made it difficult to grip, and the toothbrush head’s hard plastic, which caused it to rattle against my teeth.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

Overall, my initial impressions of the Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush are positive. It’s a well-designed and efficient toothbrush that provides a deep clean without unnecessary frills.

If you’re looking for a dependable and uncomplicated electric toothbrush at a reasonable price, the Sonicare 2100 is worth considering.

2 Brushing Modes
Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Rechargeable Power Toothbrush
$34.96

Two different intensity settings achieve a gentle yet effective clean.

2-minute SmarTimer with QuadPacer ensures Dentist-recommended brushing time.

Slim ergonomic design makes brushing easier and more comfortable.

Easy-start gently eases you into the electric brushing experience by gradually increasing the power.

Long battery life with battery light indicator: One charge last for 2 weeks.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/18/2024 12:10 pm GMT

Philips Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush (Dentist Review)

Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
Philips Sonicare 4100

As a seasoned dentist, I’ve used countless dental products.

However, the Philips Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush has quickly become a standout in my book.

From the moment I opened the box, I was impressed by the toothbrush’s sleek design.

The Philips Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush has a charging base, a brush head cover, and a single C2 “plaque removal” brush head.

The toothbrush’s charging base is compact and easy to use, with a simple plug-and-play design that makes it easy to charge the toothbrush.

After charging the toothbrush for the recommended 24 hours, I put the Philips Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush to the test.

I used the toothbrush for one week and observed the toothbrush’s bristles were soft and gentle on the teeth and gums.

While the brush head of the toothbrush was a perfect small size, I did notice that it lacked variable-length bristles and a tongue cleaner. It would have been great to have these features as they can help to provide an even deeper clean and improve overall oral hygiene.

The toothbrush’s 31,000 vibrations/minute motor is powerful yet not too intense, making it suitable for users with sensitive teeth and gums.

In addition, with its automatic shut-off after two minutes and a specific vibration every 30 seconds, the toothbrush ensures that users brush for the recommended two minutes and brush all areas of their mouth evenly.

 Recommended Reading: Philips Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review 2024

Overall, the Philips Sonicare 4100 electric toothbrush is a reliable, effective, and user-friendly option for anyone looking to improve their oral hygiene routine.

5X Plaque Removal
Philips Sonicare 4100 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush
$46.95

Removes up to 5x-7x more plaque vs. a manual toothbrush.

A pressure sensor and two intensity settings protect sensitive gums from overbrushing. 2-minute SmarTimer with QuadPacer ensures Dentist-recommended brushing time

A brush head replacement reminder ensures your brush head is always effective. Long battery life with battery light indicator: One charge lasts for 2 weeks.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/18/2024 05:45 am GMT

Similar Innovative Features

The Philips Sonicare 2100 Electric Toothbrush and Philips Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush have high-end features that make them a top choice for individuals looking for an affordable and practical electric toothbrush.

Key Features

  • Advanced Sonic Technology: Philips Sonicare uses sonic technology with 68,000 vibrations per minute, effectively pulsing water between teeth and removing plaque for a superior daily clean.
  • Extended Battery Life: The Sonicare 2100 and 4100 offer up to 14 days of use on a single charge, perfect for on-the-go without frequent recharging.
  • High-Quality Bristles: Dense bristles remove 3x more plaque than manual toothbrushes, with a contoured design for effective cleaning of hard-to-reach areas.
  • Smartimer and Quadpacer: Feature a 2-minute timer for recommended brushing duration and a 30-second interval reminder to ensure even cleaning across all mouth areas.
  • Easy-Start Technology: Gradually increases brushing intensity over 14 sessions, easing users into the electric toothbrush experience for comfortable use.
 Recommended Reading: Best Sonicare Replacement Brush Heads 2023 (Ultimate Guide)

Similar Effectiveness

Philips Sonicare DailyClean 1100 Electric Toothbrush | My Dental Advocate
Sonicare C1 Brush Head

Regarding the core mission—keeping your teeth clean and your gums healthy—both the Philips Sonicare 2100 and 4100 deliver commendably.

Dentists often recommend Sonicare products for their proven ability to remove plaque effectively; these two models are no exception.

Sonic Technology

At the heart of both models is Sonicare’s patented sonic technology, which drives fluid between teeth and along the gumline for a thorough yet gentle cleaning. The sonic motion creates a dynamic cleaning action that can remove up to 7 times more plaque than a manual toothbrush.

Brush Head Design

Both models have specially designed brush heads that complement the sonic action. The bristles are trimmed in a unique pattern to fit the natural shape of your teeth, ensuring that even hard-to-reach areas are not neglected.

Cleaning Modes

While the 4100 offers a customizable experience with its pressure sensor and multiple cleaning modes, the 2100 comes with a straightforward one-mode-fits-all approach. Nonetheless, both models deliver a highly effective cleaning experience. Whether you are a newbie to electric toothbrushes or a seasoned user, you’ll find that both models exceed the effectiveness of a manual toothbrush.

Battery Life

Both toothbrushes also boast impressive battery life. The 2100 and 4100 can last up to 14 days on a single charge. In practical terms, you can rely on either model to keep your oral hygiene in check, whether at home or on the road.

Seal of Approval

It’s worth noting that the 2100 and 4100 have received the American Dental Association’s Seal of Acceptance. This guarantees that you’re investing in a product that meets strict effectiveness and safety standards set by dental professionals.

In summary, while there are certainly differences in features and customizability between the Sonicare 2100 and 4100, their effectiveness in delivering a dentist-approved clean is virtually identical.

Both are robust tools in the battle for oral health, and you can’t go wrong with either choice.

What’s the Difference Between 2100 & 4100?

Sonicare 4100 Electric Toothbrush Review | My Dental Advocate
C2 Optimal Plaque Control Brush Head

While the Sonicare 2100 and 4100 share the goal of enhancing oral hygiene, they do so with varying features and levels of customization.

These differences could be a deciding factor for those looking for specific qualities in an electric toothbrush.

Pressure Sensor

The 4100 model comes with a built-in pressure sensor, a feature absent in the 2100. This sensor alerts you if you’re brushing too hard, helping to protect your gums from damage and providing a more optimized brushing experience.

Brush Heads

Both toothbrushes offer effective brush heads, but the 4100 features the C2 “optimal plaque-control” brush head. The 2100 features the C1 “simplyclean” brush head.

Price Point

Often, the 4100 comes at a higher price point compared to the 2100. This is understandable given its additional features and customization options.

If budget is a concern, you might find the 2100 to be a more economical choice while still offering a highly effective clean.

Design and Color Options

The 4100 generally offers more variety in design and color options, catering to those who want a toothbrush that matches their personal style. The 2100 tends to be available in fewer color choices and has a more basic design.

Alternative Options

Philips Sonicare offers a variety of electric toothbrush options to cater to different preferences and needs.

They have a kids’ electric toothbrush designed specifically for children, power flossers, premium electric toothbrushes and battery-powered toothbrushes.

Additionally, Sonicare offers various brush heads ranging from gentle to whitening and everything in between. Thousands of dentists trust Philips Sonicare globally and is a one-stop shop for all dental care needs.

For users interested in tracking their brushing habits, Quip’s smart toothbrush features Bluetooth connectivity, allowing you to connect to the Quip app and monitor your brushing patterns, duration, and frequency.

With Philip Sonicare’s diverse range of electric toothbrushes, you will surely find one that suits your lifestyle and oral care goals.

Whitens Teeth
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 6100 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$143.14(-55%)

Gentle yet effective to whiten teeth in just 1 week vs. a manual toothbrush

Protect your teeth with a pressure sensor that gently pulses to alert you when you're brushing too hard

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with the brush head replacement reminder

Personalize your brushing experience with 3 intensities and 3 modes: Clean, White and Gum Care

2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure Dental Professional recommended brushing time and a consistent clean throughout your mouth

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/18/2024 02:15 am GMT
Bonus Brush Heads
Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5300 Rechargeable Electric Power Toothbrush
$109.96

Customize your experience with the three modes: Clean, White and Gum Care.

Pressure sensor protects teeth and gums from excess brushing pressure while improving your gum health up to 100% more vs a manual toothbrush.

Always know when to replace your brush head for an effective clean with a BrushSync replacement reminder.

A 2-minute timer with QuadPacer helps ensure dental professional-recommended brushing time and encourages brushing in each quadrant of the mouth.

Battery indicator light let's you know when to recharge; 2 week battery life.

Buy Now Our Review
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
02/18/2024 01:25 pm GMT

My Experience & Expertise

Both the Philips Sonicare 2100 and 4100 are top-notch choices for maintaining oral health, but when it comes to value for money, the 2100 takes the edge.

Priced at nearly half the cost of the 4100, it offers a similar quality of clean without the additional features. While it lacks the customization options and advanced sensors of the 4100, the 2100 delivers on the core objective: effective, dentist-approved cleaning.

Electric Toothbrush Overall Rankings

  1. Philips Sonicare 9900 | 10/10
  2. Philips Sonicare 9500 | 9.9/10
  3. Philips Sonicare 9750 | 9.9/10
  4. Philips Sonicare 9300 | 9.8/10
  5. BURST Pro Sonic | 9.7/10
  6. Philips Sonicare 9000 | 9.7/10
  7. Philips Sonicare 7500 | 9.6/10
  8. BURST Original Sonic | 9.5/10
  9. Philips Sonicare 6100 | 9.5/10
  10. Philips Sonicare 6500 | 9.5/10
  11. BURST Curve Sonic | 9.4/10 $
  12. 7am2m Electric | 9.4/10
  13. Philips Sonicare 5300 | 9.4/10
  14. AquaSonic Black | 9.3/10
  15. AquaSonic Vibe | 9.3/10
  16. Philips Sonicare 5100 | 9.3/10
  17. SNOW LED Electric | 9.2/10
  18. Brio (Ollie) SmartClean | 9.1/10
  19. Philips Sonicare 2100 | 9.1/10
  20. Bitvae Smart S3 | 9.1/10
  21. Philips Sonicare 1100 | 9.1/10
  22. Philips Sonicare 4100 | 9.0/10
  23. Bitvae S2 Ultrasonic | 8.9/10
  24. Bitvae D2 Electric | 8.8/10
  25. Oral-B 1500 Electric | 8.8/10
  26. Oral-B Pro 1000 | 8.7/10
  27. Bitvae R2 Rotating | 8.5/10
  28. Quip Electric | 8.5/10
  29. Colgate Hum Electric | 7.5/10

Need a second opinion? We can help! Learn more. Knowledge is power when cultivating healthy dental habits. The more informed you are, the better positioned you’ll be to prevent avoidable and potentially costly dental procedures for you and your family. Watch for future blog posts, where we’ll continue sharing important information, product reviews and practical advice!

author avatar
Dr. Advocate Founder/Owner
Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

About the Author

Dr. Matthew Hannan, also known as “Dr. Advocate,” is a board-certified dentist on a mission to provide accurate dental patient education. He attended Baylor University before completing dental school at UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry. He now lives in Arizona with his beautiful wife and 4 kids. Dr. Hannan believes everyone should access easy-to-read dental resources with relevant, up-to-date dental research and insight to improve their oral health.

Matt Hannan, DDS Signature | My Dental Advocate

Connect with Dr. Hannan!

Gain Clarity with Our FREE Second Opinion Guide

Unsure About Your Dental Diagnosis?

Receive clear, expert second opinions online within 48 hours. Start today!

5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“My five-year-old son was experiencing severe pain in his mouth and jaw region that required me to pull him from school and take him to his on-call doctor. We didn’t receive any official answers from his doctor visit but My Dental Advocate service was so helpful! Utilizing this service gave me peace of mind as a mother.”
(Received Clarity)
Krista
Arizona
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I reached out to My Dental Advocate for a second opinion after finding them online. They quickly responded with a full report informing me that they agreed with the findings and even explained why it needed to be extracted. I highly recommend them for an online second opinion!”
(Saved $3000)
Rita
Texas
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
5 star rating
“I was on an extended trip traveling for work, and went to a corporate dental office that I was unfamiliar with. Upon performing an x-ray, they identified a few inclusions and were pressing me to schedule. With My Dental Advocate, I was able to get a second opinion and feel more confident about the urgency of treatment.”
(Received Clarity)
Michael
California

Product Reviews

Our 250+ dental product reviews (and counting), curated by an experienced dentist, are the most comprehensive online.

Toothbrush Genie

State-of-the-art chatbot designed to help you discover your perfect toothbrush in just a few simple steps!

Cavity Risk Assessment

Cutting-edge digital tool designed to evaluate your individual cavity risk based on your responses to a series of questions.

Gum Disease Assessment

Discover your gum disease risk with our quick and engaging 6-question assessment!

Product Reviews
Blog Posts
Money Saved

Easiest Second Opinion, Ever!

  • Confidently upload x-rays (plus any other documents) to a board-certified dentist via HIPAA-secure email.
  • Within 48 hours, you receive an expert second opinion affirming your current treatment plan or recommending alternative treatment options.